Close this search box.

Johnson and Swindell among 305 Shootout hopefuls

Bryan Hulbert – TULSA, Okla. (March 13, 2013) If you build it, they will come is the idea behind the ASCS 305 Sprint Car Shootout taking place this Friday, March 15 and Saturday, March 16 at the Southern New Mexico Speedway in Las Cruces, N.M.

Offing a payday that rivals some nationally recognized Sprint Car events, the $5,000 bounty is the largest for 305cid Sprint Cars in the United States and because of that, is attracting some fairly big names as three time Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real National Champion Jason Johnson heads for the “City of the Crosses” with a Baughman Motorsports ride ready for the Eunice, La. driver.

Utilizing his own JJR entry in 2012, Johnson borrowed an A.S.I. power plant from track owner Royal Jones and walked away with a ninth place performance.

Also expected to compete is Jeff Swindell.

Competing for the second time in 2012, Swindell grabbed the preliminary night’s $1,000 victory for Minks Motorsports in 2011 following a late race caution that allowed Swindell to find the high side around race long leader John Carney II but tangled with another car during Saturday’s championship event. His 2012 appearance saw the Bartlett, Tenn. driver out early on his prelim night before clawing back to a fourth place finish come Saturday.

Piloting the Steward Builders No. 224, John Carney II will return to defend his crown. Now residing in Lubbock, Texas, Carney’s season will be a mix of ASCS Regional competition with some 305 events. The former RSCS Champion is the only driver with multiple ASCS 305 Sprint Car Shootout titles; grabbing the inaugural check in 2010 for CSR Motorsports.

Gaining attention in 2012 following a podium finish at the Comp Cams Short Track Nationals, Christopher Bell will be on hand in the Miller Motorsports No. 01 along with fellow Oklahoma native Harli White who competed in a mixed schedule of ASCS and OCRS events in 2012. White has also been a regular competitor in the Tulsa Shootout and Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.

Local favorites for the prestigious 305cid Sprint Car event include 2011 champion Wes Wofford and father Lorne Wofford along with three time Renegade Sprint Car Champion Royal Jones. Some 30 drivers or more are expected to be on hand.

Both nights of the fourth annual Southwest ASCS 305 Sprint Car Shootout begin at 6:30pm (MT) with gates opening at 5pm. Registration forms are available at

Additional dates are forthcoming for the 2013 season with six nights so far confirmed for the southwest based series.

The 2013 season marks the twenty-second year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of nine different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.

Past Winners:

2010 Prelim Winner: Bud Kaeding
2010 Champion: John Carney II
2011 Prelim Winner: Jeff Swindell
2011 Champion: Wes Wofford
2012 Prelim Winner: Johnny Herrera
2012 Champion: John Carney II