Close this search box.

Jason Johnson Tops ASCS Gulf South at Speedarama

Lonnie Wheatley, LUFKIN, Texas (April 24, 2010) – Jason Johnson picked off his second consecutive American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region feature win by taking the checkered flag in Saturday night’s 25-lap main event at the Speedarama Raceway.

“The Ragin’ Cajun” and past series champion Ray Allen Kulhanek swapped the lead a couple of times along the way in the series debut atop the semi-banked, 1/3-mile clay oval before Johnson took command for keeps on the 14th round en route to victory lane aboard the Jason Johnson Racing Don Ott-powered Haynes/Pope Transportation No. 41 Maxim.

After the initial start was waved off for an incident that forced Jimmy Brooks pitside, the entirety of the 25-lap distance was run off in non-stop fashion.

Outgunning Travis Elliott for the point at the drop of the green flag, 2005 ASCS Gulf South champion Kulhanek paced the opening eight circuits before surrendering the point to fifth-starter Johnson on the ninth circuit.

But when Johnson jumped the cushion a pair of circuits later, Kulhanek recaptured the lead on the 11th round.

Johnson battled back in front just past the midway point and paced the final twelve laps for his 24th career ASCS Gulf South victory and 74th career overall ASCS triumph.

Working forward from seventh, Gary Wright worked his way past Kulhanek over the final half of the race to take runner-up honors with Kulhanek settling for the show position.

Elliott crossed the stripe fourth, with Wayne Johnson cracking the top five on the 20th circuit and holding the fifth spot to the line.

Scottie McDonald picked up Hard Charger honors by racing from 17th to sixth, with Channin Tankersley, Aaron Reutzel, Tommy Bryant and Brandon Berryman completing the top ten.

Wright, Brandon Corn, Johnson and Kulhanek topped heat race action for the 31-car field, with Bryant and Preston Peebles II winning the “B” Mains.

American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region Results from Speedarama Raceway:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 9x-Gary Wright, 2. 93-Chris Sweeney, 3. 30x-Bean Elliott, 4. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 5. 35-Greg Rilat, 6. 51s-Beau Smith, 7. 69-Larry Howery, 8. 3T-Tyler King.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 30-Brandon Corn, 2. 12b-Logan Bledsoe, 3. 15T-Travis Elliott, 4. 3x-Wayne Johnson, 5. 87x-Billy Melton, 6. 88-Scottie McDonald, 7. 8tw-Kent Lewis, Jr., 8. 79-Ryan Hall.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 3. 71-Channin Tankersley, 4. 45k-Kolt Walker, 5. 85-Tommy Bryant, 6. 3-Gary Watson, 7. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr. DNS: 51w-Wes Miller.

Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 2. 31-Brandon Berryman, 3. 19-Klint Angelette, 4. 51-Jimmy Brooks, 5. 52-Roger Oakes, 6. 28-James Cooper, 7. 61-Travis Knighton.

First “B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 85-Tommy Bryant, 2. 88-Scottie McDonald, 3. 8tw-Kent Lewis, Jr., 4. 35-Greg Rilat, 5. 51s-Beau Smith, 6. 69-Larry Howery, 7. 19-Klint Angelette, 8. 3T-Tyler King. DNS: 51w-Wes Miller.

Second “B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 2. 87x-Billy Melton, 3. 52-Roger Oakes, 4. 79-Ryan Hall, 5. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr., 6. 28-James Cooper, 7. 3-Gary Watson. DNS: 61-Travis Knighton.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 9x-Gary Wright, 3. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 4. 15T-Travis Elliott, 5. 3x-Wayne Johnson, 6. 88-Scottie McDonald, 7. 71-Channin Tankersley, 8. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 9. 85-Tommy Bryant, 10. 31-Brandon Berryman, 11. 30-Brandon Corn, 12. 45k-Kolt Walker, 13. 30x-Bean Elliott, 14. 93-Chris Sweeney, 15. 12b-Logan Bledsoe, 16. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 17. 87x-Billy Melton, 18. 52-Roger Oakes, 19. 8tw-Kent Lewis, Jr., 20. 51-Jimmy Brooks.

ASCS Gulf South Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Gary Wright 499, 2. Aaron Reutzel 452, 3. Tommy Bryant 449, 4. Brandon Berryman 434, 5. Scottie McDonald 424, 6. Ray Allen Kulhanek 407, 7. Brian Brown 404, 8. Channin Tankersley 398, 9. Brady Bacon 379, 10. Tony Bruce, Jr. 374.