Close this search box.

Jason Johnson Takes Another ASCS Win at HRP

Lonnie Wheatley, BAYTOWN, Texas (June 19, 2010) – Jason Johnson picked off his second American Sprint Car Series Regional feature win in as many nights by racing to victory lane in Saturday night’s 25-lap ASCS Gulf South main event at Houston Raceway Park.

After topping the opening leg of the ASCS Red River Challenge featuring the Lone Star and Sooner Regions, “The Ragin’ Cajun” made his way to south Texas for Saturday night’s Gulf South romp, his second in as many Gulf South tries at HRP this year.

Racing forward from the seventh starting position, Johnson needed just a handful of laps to take the lead away from Scottie McDonald en route to his sixth overall ASCS feature win of the year aboard the Jason Johnson Racing Don Ott-powered Haynes/Pope Transportation No. 41 Maxim.

Johnson took the checkered flag ahead of Michael Lang, with McDonald, Tommy Bryant and 21st-starter Jerry Bell rounding out the top five.

Current ASCS Gulf South points leader Ray Allen Kulhanek was sixth, with Travis Elliott, Bean Elliott, Gary Watson and Wes Miller completing the top ten.

Johnson, Kulhanek and Jimmy Brooks topped Saturday night’s heat races, with Beau Smith winning the “B” Main.

ASCS Gulf South Region Results from Houston Raceway Park:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 88-Scottie McDonald, 3. 00-Michael Dupuy, 4. 71-Channin Tankersley, 5. 15T-Travis Elliott, 6. 53-Trey Schmidt, 7. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr., 8. 5c-Chris Coker, 9. 87-Aaron Reutzel.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 2. 8b-Bruce Crockett, 3. 14-Michael Lang, 4. 30x-Bean Elliott, 5. 35-Greg Rilat, 6. 12b-Logan Bledsoe, 7. 52-Roger Oakes, 8. 28-James Cooper, 9. 85x-Jerry Bell.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 51-Jimmy Brooks, 2. 31-Brandon Berryman, 3. 85-Tommy Bryant, 4. 3-Gary Watson, 5. 93-Chris Sweeney, 6. 51w-Wes Miller, 7. 51s-Beau Smith, 8. 69-Larry Howery.

“B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 51s-Beau Smith, 2. 12b-Logan Bledsoe, 3. 85x-Jerry Bell, 4. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 5. 5c-Chris Coker, 6. 69-Larry Howery, 7. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr. DNS: 28-James Cooper.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 14-Michael Lang, 3. 88-Scottie McDonald, 4. 85-Tommy Bryant, 5. 85x-Jerry Bell, 6. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 7. 15T-Travis Elliott, 8. 30x-Bean Elliott, 9. 3-Gary Watson, 10. 51w-Wes Miller, 11. 12b-Logan Bledsoe, 12. 93-Chris Sweeney, 13. 71-Channin Tankersley, 14. 35-Greg Rilat, 15. 69-Larry Howery, 16. 52-Roger Oakes, 17. 53-Trey Schmidt, 18. 5c-Chris Coker, 19. 00-Michael Dupuy, 20. 31-Brandon Berryman, 21. 51-Jimmy Brooks, 22. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 23. 8b-Bruce Crockett, 24. 51s-Beau Smith.

ASCS Gulf South Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Ray Allen Kulhanek 1,215, 2. Tommy Bryant 1,157, 3. Brandon Berryman 1,136, 4. Aaron Reutzel 1,126, 5. Scottie McDonald 1,079, 6. Travis Elliott 1,020, 7. Chris Sweeney 964, 8. Wes Miller 944, 9. Greg Rilat 918, 10. Logan Bledsoe 873.