Close this search box.

Jason Johnson Sweeps ASCS Sooner Weekend with L…

[b Jason Johnson Sweeps ASCS Sooner Weekend with Lawton Win]

[i Lonnie Wheatley, LAWTON, Okla. (August 22, 2009)]

Louisiana’s Jason Johnson completed a sweep of the weekend’s American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region competition by winning Saturday night’s 25-lap feature at Lawton Speedway.

The current Lucas Oil Sprint Car points leader needed just a handful of laps to race into the lead from his fourth starting position aboard Lanny Row’s Wesmar-powered The Shop Motorsports No. 41 Eagle.

Johnson went on to take his sixth overall ASCS win of the season in front of Danny Wood, with Nick Smith, Eric Baldaccini and Danny Jennings rounding out the top five.

Skip Wilson was sixth, with 15th-starter Kolt Walker, Kyle Bellm, current Sooner Region points leader Joe Wood, Jr., and Matt Covington completing the top ten.

J.P. Bailey, D. Wood, Jennings and Smith topped Saturday night’s heat races, with Walker and Donnie Ray Crawford winning the twin “B” Mains.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Results from Lawton Speedway:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 45-J.P. Bailey, 2. 28-Chris Lloyd, 3. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 4. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 5. 45x-Martin Edwards, 6. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford, 7. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 8. 78-Jody Williams.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 94-Danny Wood, 2. 65-Skip Wilson, 3. 95-Matt Covington, 4. 4s-Robert Sellers, 5. 45k-Kolt Walker, 6. 33-Kris Miller, 7. 21s-Michelle Decker. DNS: 27-Andy Shouse.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 1j-Danny Jennings, 2. 0T-Jake Martens, 3. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr., 4. 04-Brad Graham, 5. 22-Koby Barksdale, 6. 58-Gary Floyd, 7. 87a-Andrew Marshala.

Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 15s-Nick Smith, 2. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 3. 41-Jason Johnson, 4. 14k-Kyle Bellm, 5. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 6. 61-Earnest Jennings, 7. 25-Brian McClelland.

First “B” Main: 1. 45k-Kolt Walker, 2. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr., 3. 22-Koby Barksdale, 4. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 5. 45x-Martin Edwards, 6. 78-Jody Williams, 7. 33-Kris Miller. DNS: 87a-Andrew Marshala.

Second “B” Main: 1. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford, 2. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 3. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 4. 27-Andy Shouse, 5. 25-Brian McClelland, 6. 21s-Michelle Decker, 7. 58-Gary Floyd, 8. 61-Earnest Jennings.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 94-Danny Wood, 3. 15s-Nick Smith, 4. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 5. 1j-Danny Jennings, 6. 65-Skip Wilson, 7. 45k-Kolt Walker, 8. 14k-Kyle Bellm, 9. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 10. 95-Matt Covington, 11. 22-Koby Barksdale, 12. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 13. 28-Chris Lloyd, 14. 04-Brad Graham, 15. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford, 16. 45-J.P. Bailey, 17. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 18. 4s-Robert Sellers, 19. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr., 20. 0T-Jake Martens.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Joe Wood, Jr. 1,240, 2. Matt Covington 1,206, 3. Donnie Ray Crawford 1,095, 4. Kyle Bellm 1,010, 5. Brad Graham 943, 6. Chris Lloyd 878, 7. Andy Shouse 861, 8. Forrest Sutherland 844, 9. Robert Sellers 842, 10. Brady Bacon 822.