Close this search box.

Jason Johnson Claims Nebraska Cup with ASCS Midwest Triumph!

Lonnie Wheatley, EAGLE, Neb. (September 12, 2010) – Eunice, Louisiana native Jason Johnson continued his recent hot streak by taking the $5,000 winner’s share in Sunday night’s 30-lap Nebraska Cup championship feature event for the ASCS Midwest Region at Eagle Raceway.

After Brady Bacon cut a right rear while leading at the midway point, Johnson took the lead away from ASCS Midwest points leader Eric Lutz on the 21st circuit en route to his second win in as many nights and 15th overall ASCS victory of the year aboard the Don Ott-powered Haynes / Pope Transportation No. 41 Maxim.

With Johnson starting the feature outside row three, pole starter Trevor Grossenbacher led the opening circuit before front row outside starter Bacon raced into a lead that he held until shredding a right rear at the midway point.

While Bacon rejoined the field at the tail, Lutz assumed the lead in front of Johnson on the restart and paced the next six rounds before “The Ragin’ Cajun” raced into the lead on the top side of the 3/8-mile clay oval.

Johnson went on to the checkered flag ahead of Lutz, with Grossenbacher taking the show position. After winning the night’s second “B” Main, Mike Boston charged from 16th to fourth while Brian Brown raced from 13th to round out the top five.

Tony Bruce, Jr., winner of the 2009 Nebraska Cup, was sixth, with Kyle Hirst, Jack Dover, Gregg Bakker and Bacon completing the top ten.

Mitchell Moore, Bruce, Jr., Ken Klabunde, Lee Grosz and Stu Snyder topped heat race action for the 41-car field, with Jake Peters and Boston winning the “B” Mains.

ASCS Midwest Region Results from Eagle Raceway:

First Heat (10 Laps): 1. 91-Mitchell Moore, 2. 5h-Kyle Hirst, 3. 77-John Klabunde, 4. 21-Brian Brown, 5. 23-Tadd Holliman, 6. 7-Dustin Selvage, 7. 36-Rick Hansen, 8. 14n-H.J. Norman. DNS: 6-Nick Bryan.

Second Heat (10 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 2. 99-Brady Bacon, 3. 22-Billy Alley, 4. 51-Mike Boston, 5. 23r-Terry Holliman, 6. 24a-Don Droud, Jr., 7. 44-Doug Lovegrove. DNS: 71-Tige Jensen.

Third Heat (10 Laps): 1. 28-Ken Klabunde, 2. 1m-Chad Humston, 3. 5-Eric Lutz, 4. 57-Larry Pinegar, 5. 11x-Greg Bakker, 6. 57x-Jake Peters, 7. 45c-Russ Hall, 8. 1w-Chad Meyer.

Fourth Heat (10 Laps): 1. 4j-Lee Grosz, 2. 53-Jack Dover, 3. 21k-Ryan Kitchen, 4. 14g-Gene Ackland, 5. 0-Jeff Osborne, 6. 7g-Mike Gabelhouse, 7. 31-Mark Pace, 8. 12-Tyler Drueke.

Fifth Heat (10 Laps): 1. 23s-Stu Snyder, 2. 41-Jason Johnson, 3. 35-Trevor Grossenbacher, 4. 4-Jordan Boston, 5. 0w-Jake Martens, 6. D12-Dennis Moore, Jr., 7. 17-Gage Dorr, 8. 6g-Bryan Gossel.

First “B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 57x-Jake Peters, 2. 77-John Klabunde, 3. 0w-Jake Martens, 4. 21k-Ryan Kitchen, 5. 23-Tadd Holliman, 6. 45c-Russ Hall, 7. 31-Mark Pace, 8. 1w-Chad Meyer, 9. 7-Dustin Selvage, 10. 23r-Terry Holliman, 11. 17-Gage Dorr, 12. D12-Dennis Moore, Jr. DNS: 12-Tyler Drueke, 71-Tige Jensen.

Second “B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 51-Mike Boston, 2. 11x-Gregg Bakker, 3. 24a-Don Droud, Jr., 4. 57-Larry Pinegar, 5. 4-Jordan Boston, 6. 0-Jeff Osborne, 7. 44-Doug Lovegrove, 8. 7g-Mike Gabelhouse, 9. 6g-Bryan Gossel, 10. 14n-H.J. Norman, 11. 36-Rick Hansen. DNS: 22-Billy Alley, 6-Nick Bryan.

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 5-Eric Lutz, 3. 35-Trevor Grossenbacher, 4. 51-Mike Boston, 5. 21-Brian Brown, 6. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 7. 5h-Kyle Hirst, 8. 53-Jack Dover, 9. 11x-Gregg Bakker, 10. 99-Brady Bacon, 11. 24a-Don Droud, Jr., 12. 57x-Jake Peters, 13. 0w-Jake Martens, 14. 14g-Gene Ackland, 15. 23s-Stu Snyder, 16. 4j-Lee Grosz, 17. 91-Mitchell Moore, 18. 1m-Chad Humston, 19. 28-Ken Klabunde, 20. 77-John Klabunde.

ASCS Midwest Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Eric Lutz 2,230, 2. Jack Dover 1,905, 3. Doug Lovegrove 1,867, 4. Brian Brown 1,631, 5. Lee Grosz 1,443, 6. Tyler Drueke 1,318, 7. Chad Humston 1,257, 8. Gage Dorr 1,225, 9. Jason Danley 1,207, 10. Billy Alley 1,075.