Close this search box.

It’s All Boston at I-90

Bryan Hulbert – Hartford, South Dakota (July 7, 2012) The number twelve could very well be Jordan Boston’s lucky number. In his 12th Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV start, the Lincoln, Nebraska driver became the 12th different winner with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV in 2012 and the 108th (which incidentally is divisible by 12) in series history.

In his post-race interview, Boston reflected on nearly getting his first Lucas Oil ASCS feature event win at Eagle Raceway a year earlier by saying, “this makes up for everything”.

Drawing the pole for the night feature event, the Select Auto No. 4 would get the jump to the lead but would have to do it again as fellow front row start Lee Grosz flipped off the top of turn three before a lap could be completed.

Getting the jump on the second attempt, the red would again be displayed with one lap complete as Oklahoma City’s Wayne Johnson flipped violently down the front straight after the Oil Medics No. 77x made contact with the wall. Johnson emerged unscathed.

Back under green, Boston would have to hold off the Ark Wrecking No. 2 of Dustin Morgan. Going side by side on several occasions, Boston would begin slowly working to a comfortable advantage.

Taking over the runner up spot on lap ten, fifth starting Jack Dover would have the Fatheadz Eyewear No. 99 of Brady Bacon in hot pursuit as the pair shuffled Morgan back to fourth.

With slower traffic becoming a part of the equation, Dover and Bacon would begin closing on the No. 4 of Boston for the race lead. Able to work slower traffic, the Eckley Powered No. 4 would maintain the top spot.

Slowing for a stalled car on the pit lane on lap 19, Boston restarted with only one lapped car separating the No. 4 from Dover’s No. 53.

Getting a good run to the green flag, Boston would pull to a six car length advantage but as the rubber started to go down Dover was quickly becoming a factor. Crossing under the white flag, Dover and Bacon ran in good position; just waiting for a slip up that would not come as Boston took the win.

Jack Dover would take second with Brady Bacon charging from ninth to take third. Johnny Herrera would take fourth after starting eleventh while Dustin Morgan rounded out the top five.

Starting fourteenth, Logan Forler would climb to sixth with Brad Loyet moving up from thirteenth to take seventh. Tony Bruce Jr. advanced from eighteenth to eighth followed by Jason Johnson, who after having to go to the work area after the opening red, advance from twenty-first to ninth. The top ten would round out with Scott Winters.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV
I-90 Speedway – Hartford, South Dakota
July 7, 2012

Car Count: 37

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 1-Sean McClelland[2]; 2. 45x-Johnny Herrera[1]; 3. 05-Brad Loyet[4]; 4. 99-Brady Bacon[7]; 5. 41-Jason Johnson[5]; 6. 6-Kaley Gharst[3]; 7. 6g-Bryan Gossel[8]; DNF 47-Brant O’Banion[6]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 4-Jordan Boston[1]; 2. 5-Eric Lutz[4]; 3. 2-Dustin Morgan[6]; 4. 83-Ned Powers[3]; 5. 63-Terry Chester[2]; 6. 2k-Kevin Ingle[7]; 7. 21k-Ryan Kitchen[5]; 8. 4x-Ryan Jones[8]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 18r-Ryan Roberts[2]; 2. 11x-Gregg Bakker[1]; 3. 5h-Logan Forler[4]; 4. 25-Dylan Peterson[5]; 5. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[7]; 6. 3j-Jeremiah Jordahl[3]; 7. 2d-Dusty Ballenger[6]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 12L-John Lambertz[1]; 2. 32-Scott Winters[2]; 3. 17b-Ryan Bickett[4]; 4. 23s-Stu Snyder[6]; 5. 57x-Jake Peters[7]; 6. 1j-Justin Glaser[3]; 7. 17-Gage Dorr[5]

Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 4j-Lee Grosz[1]; 2. 53-Jack Dover[3]; 3. 9-Gary Wright[4]; 4. 77x-Wayne Johnson[6]; 5. 3-Donovan Peterson[2]; 6. 12-Brock Dump[5]; 7. 23-Seth Bergman[7]

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 23s-Stu Snyder[1]; 2. 41-Jason Johnson[4]; 3. 6-Kaley Gharst[7]; 4. 57x-Jake Peters[3]; 5. 1j-Justin Glaser[8]; 6. 63-Terry Chester[5]; 7. 4x-Ryan Jones[11]; 8. 12-Brock Dump[6]; 9. 17-Gage Dorr[10]; 10. 25-Dylan Peterson[2]; 11. 2d-Dusty Ballenger[9]

B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[2]; 2. 83-Ned Powers[3]; 3. 3-Donovan Peterson[5]; 4. 23-Seth Bergman[8]; 5. 77x-Wayne Johnson[1]; 6. 6g-Bryan Gossel[6]; 7. 21k-Ryan Kitchen[9]; 8. 3j-Jeremiah Jordahl[7]; 9. 2k-Kevin Ingle[4]; DNS 47-Brant O’Banion

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 4-Jordan Boston[1]; 2. 53-Jack Dover[5]; 3. 99-Brady Bacon[9]; 4. 45x-Johnny Herrera[11]; 5. 2-Dustin Morgan[3]; 6. 5h-Logan Forler[14]; 7. 05-Brad Loyet[13]; 8. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[18]; 9. 41-Jason Johnson[19]; 10. 32-Scott Winters[10]; 11. 5-Eric Lutz[8]; 12. 9-Gary Wright[16]; 13. 17b-Ryan Bickett[15]; 14. 18r-Ryan Roberts[6]; 15. 12L-John Lambertz[4]; 16. 1-Sean McClelland[7]; 17. 23s-Stu Snyder[17]; 18. 3-Donovan Peterson[22]; 19. 83-Ned Powers[20]; 20. 23-Seth Bergman[24]; DNF 6-Kaley Gharst[21]; DNF 11x-Gregg Bakker[12]; DNF 77x-Wayne Johnson[23]; DNF 4j-Lee Grosz[2]

Lap Leader(s): Jordan Boston 1-30 Hard Charger of the Night: Tony Bruce Jr. +10
FSR Radiator High Point Driver: Sean McClelland
Provisional(s): Wayne Johnson (1), Seth Bergman (2+1)

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-8, Brady Bacon-4, Wayne Johnson-4, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1, Jordan Boston-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 3,568; 2. Wayne Johnson 3,508; 3. Brady Bacon 3,396; 4. Johnny Herrera 3,248; 5. Tony Bruce Jr. 3,167; 6. Brad Loyet 3,160; 7. Seth Bergman 2,890; 8. Dustin Morgan 2,780; 9. Logan Forler 2,726; 10. Gary Wright ,74

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is scheduled to compete 66 times in 15 states throughout the United States with drivers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s fund.

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Rob Kocak Photos