Close this search box.

Inaugural ASCS Canyon contest at Cocopah!

Cody Morris, Tulsa, Oklahoma (4-30-2012) – The Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour presented by MavTV made their winged ASCS sprint car debut at Somerton, Arizona’s Cocopah Speedway in early March. Now it’s time for topless to have their turn.

This coming Saturday, May 5th, the non wing sprint car stars of the ASCS Canyon Region will make the first visit in ASCS Canyon Region history to Cocopah’s semi-banked 3/8 mile oval.

Built overlooking the Yuma Valley in 1968, this Saturday’s Cinco de Mayo contest will feature the first and only ASCS Canyon contest at Cocopah this season.

Three-time and defending ASCS Canyon champion (2007,2008,2011) Jeremy Sherman snared his first victory of the 2012 ASCS Canyon season this past weekend at Peoria, Arizona’s Second Annual “Canyon Clash”. Sherman will be running a limited 2012 schedule in the Shon Deskins owned mount.

Sherman’s CSP victory put a quick end to a short Charles Davis Jr. winning streak. The Buckeye, Arizona racer and two-time ASCS Canyon Region champion (2009,2010) charged to victory lane in the opening pair of 2012 ASCS Canyon Region contests held at Canyon Speedway Park and Arizona Speedway.

This Saturday’s Cocopah affair will mark the fourth contest of a 2012 ASCS Canyon Region campaign that currently features 21 events.

Cocopah will open pitside at 2pm this Saturday, with grandstands following at 5pm and racing action scheduled to begin at 7pm.

Featured Photo: Terry Shaw / TKA Photography

For more information regarding Cocopah Speedway, including ticket prices, directions, and an exceptionally well chronicled history of the track and area, please visit

2012 ASCS Canyon Region feature winners: Charles Davis Jr. 2; Jeremy Sherman 1

2012 ASCS Canyon Region point standings: 1. Charles Davis Jr. 435; 2. RJ Johnson 388; 3. Bruce St. James 382; 4. Josh Pelkey 368; 5. Mike Colegrove 351; 6. Dalten Gabbard 330; 7. Andy Reinbold 329; 8. Brian Hosford 308; 9. Justin Quinn 306; 10. Ryan Linder 298

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV, ASCS also consists of eleven different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at