Close this search box.

Hoiness Taps Great Falls for First ASCS Rocky Moun

[b Hoiness Taps Great Falls for First ASCS Rocky Mountain Win]

[i Lonnie Wheatley, GREAT FALLS, Mont. (September 6, 2009)]

David Hoiness took advantage of a late caution to snare his first career American Sprint Car Series Rocky Mountain Region feature win in Sunday night’s 25-lap main event at Electric City Speedway.

Hoiness assumed the point for a green-white-checkered run to the stripe and held on to take the win in front of Saturday night winner Joe Ramaker, who had held the lead until suffering a cut left rear under the late-race caution.

After the feature event’s initial start was waved off for Joe Stumpf’s turn one tumble, Brent Kronfuss gunned into the lead from the pole position and paced the opening seven rounds before Ramaker took command.

Ramaker lapped into the top ten positions and was just a couple of laps shy of a weekend sweep when a caution flew, with his left rear deflating under the caution period.

Back under way with seventh-starter Hoiness up front for good, Ramaker rallied to salvage a runner-up finish with 15th-starter Paxton Lambrecht, 14th-starter Phil Dietz and Casey Adams rounding out the top five.

Kronfuss was sixth, with Trevor Kirkland, current ASCS Rocky Mountain points leader Jake Ossenfort, Kelly Miller and Jeremy McCune completing the top ten. McCune, the final car on the lead lap, flipped on the final circuit as the checkered flag flew and was transported to a local hospital complaining of knee pain.

ASCS Rocky Mountain Region Results from Electric City Speedway:

Locked in from Saturday Night’s Preliminary Feature; 98-Joe Ramaker, 99-Jake Ossenfort, 9k-Brent Kronfuss, 12a-Casey Adams.

Heat One (10 Laps): 1. 27dd-David Hoiness, 2. 0j-Jeremy McCune, 3. 23-Gary Taylor, 4. 33x-Stuart Selby, 5. 38-Jerry Brown, 6. 27r-Kolter Kosten, 7. 7x-Paxton Lambrecht, 8. 33-Tucker McCune, 9. 34-Bob Peters, 9. 10-Danielle Ossenfort.

Heat Two (10 Laps): 1. 44-Kelly Miller, 2. 37-Trevor Kirkland, 3. 99x-Joe Stumpf, 4. 0-Ned Powers, 5. 28-Joe Perry, 6. 72-Phil Dietz, 7. 88-Calvin Stumpf, 8. 2-Kyle Bates, 9. 77-Mark Sweet.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 27dd-David Hoiness, 2. 98-Joe Ramaker, 3. 7x-Paxton Lambrecht, 4. 72-Phil Dietz, 5. 12a-Casey Adams, 6. 9k-Brent Kronfuss, 7. 37-Trevor Kirkland, 8. 99-Jake Ossenfort, 9. 44-Kelly Miller, 10. 0j-Jeremy McCune, 11. 0-Ned Powers, 12. 10-Danielle Ossenfort, 13. 38-Jerry Brown, 14. 88-Calvin Stumpf, 15. 33-Tucker McCune, 16. 28-Joe Perry, 17. 34-Bob Peters, 18. 77-Mark Sweet, 19. 33x-Stuart Selby, 20. 23-Gary Taylor, 21. 2-Kyle Bates, 22. 27r-Kolter Kosten, 23. 99x-Joe Stumpf.

ASCS Rocky Mountain Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Jake Ossenfort 1,554, 2. Jeremy McCune 1,518, 3. Kolter Kosten 1,321, 4. Mark Sweet 1,225, 5. Tucker McCune 1,161, 6. Danielle Ossenfort 1,100, 7. Randy Pierce 1,096, 8. Brent Kronfuss 960, 9. Bob Schaeffer 890, 10. Mike Posey 628.