Close this search box.

Hodges Leads ASCS Rocky Mountain Region to Sweetwater

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (June 14, 2010) – Just over one year ago, Joshua Hodges became the youngest feature winner in American Sprint Car Series history by topping an ASCS Rocky Mountain main event at Sweetwater Speedway in Rock Springs, WY, less than five months past his 14th birthday

Now, a year later, Hodges leads the ASCS Rocky Mountain Region into the first of two scheduled events at Sweetwater Speedway with this Saturday night’s card in Rock Springs.

And, he does it with his second career ASCS feature win fresh in the memory banks after besting the ASCS Rocky Mountain vs. Southwest card at New Mexico’s Aztec Speedway on June 5.

Now 15 years old, the Tijeras, NM, is out to the early lead in ASCS Rocky Mountain Region points as he vies to become the tenth different Rocky Mountain champion in as many years as well as the youngest series champion in ASCS history.

With the initial four nights of ASCS Rocky Mountain action logged into the record books, Hodges holds a 144-point edge over Los Lunas, NM, competitor Colt Treharn, who enters Saturday’s Sweetwater action ranked second in series points.

There were three different winners in as many ASCS Rocky Mountain events at Sweetwater in 2009, with Brent Kronfuss and Joe Ramaker scoring Rock Springs wins along with Hodges.

Saturday’s ASCS Rocky Mountain Region action at Sweetwater Speedway fires off at 7:00 p.m.

Sweetwater Speedway is located in Rock Springs, WY, off I-80 Exit 104, then 0.9 miles north on US 191 (Elk St.), then 1.1 mile west on Yellowstone Road. For more information, contact the track at 307-352-6789.

The tenth year of action for the American Sprint Car Series Rocky Mountain Region is slated to consist of 12 events at six tracks throughout New Mexico, Kansas and Wyoming.

Past ASCS Rocky Mountain Region Feature Winners at Sweetwater Speedway:
8/22/09 – Joe Ramaker
6/13/09 – Joshua Hodges
6/12/09 – Brent Kronfuss
8/23/08 – Derrik Ortega
6/14/08 – Patrick Bourke
6/13/08 – Derrik Ortega
8/18/07 – Keith Rauch
6/9/07 – C.J. Johnson
8/19/06 – Keith Rauch
6/17/06 – Danny Horner
8/20/05 – Eric Miller
5/14/05 – Patrick Bourke
8/21/04 – Nick Haygood
8/23/03 – Randi Miller
5/31/03 – Randi Miller
8/17/02 – Jason Martin
6/8/02 – Mike Dreiling
8/18/01 – Randi Miller

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at