Close this search box.

Hirst Banks ASCS Northwest Speedweek Win at Sunset Speedway

Lonnie Wheatley, BANKS, Ore. (July 14, 2010) – Kyle Hirst notched his first career American Sprint Car Series feature triumph by winning Wednesday night’s 30-lap ASCS Northwest Speedweek main event at Sunset Speedway.

After finishes of third and second in the initial two rounds of ASCS Northwest Speedweek, Hirst stepped to the top of the podium by becoming the third different winner in as many nights of Speedweek competition in Oregon.

The 22-year-old Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National Rookie of the Year contender hailing from Loomis, CA, took Wednesday night’s checkered flag aboard Gary Perkins’ Shark-powered GP Development No. 6 A.R.T. ahead of Henry Van Dam with Jason Solwold, Seth Bergman and Mitch Olson rounding out the top five.

Rookie shoe Trey Starks was sixth, with Roger Crockett, Jason Johnson, Jayme Barnes and Steven Tiner completing the top ten.

Van Dam, Hirst, Olson and Logan Forler topped heat race action for Wednesday night’s 30-car field, with Johnson and Jay Cole winning the “B” Mains.

The ASCS Northwest Speedweek concludes with the Fourth Annual Fred Brownfield Memorial at Elma, Washington’s Grays Harbor Raceway on Friday and Saturday as the ASCS Northwest forces tangle with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National contenders for the $10,092 winner’s share.

ASCS Northwest Results from Sunset Speedway:

Heat One: 1. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 2. 55-Trey Starks, 3. 23-Seth Bergman, 4. 0j-Jay Cole, 5. 26f-Shane Forte, 6. 12p-Randy Pierce, 7. 24-Theo McCarty, 8. 29-Travis Rilat.

Heat Two: 1. 6-Kyle Hirst, 2. 08-Steve Vague, 3. 39c-Jason Solwold, 4. 11-Roger Crockett, 5. 31-Colton Akerstrom, 6. 11w-Shane Broers, 7. 5d-Josh DeWitt, 8. 87a-Andrew Marshala.

Heat Three: 1. 98m-Mitch Olson, 2. 94-Steven Tiner, 3. 7n-Jayme Barnes, 4. 13-Chadd Noland, 5. 41-Jason Johnson, 6. 2m-Mike Melwicks, 7. 73-Danielle Huson.

Heat Four: 1. 2L-Logan Forler, 2. 10-Kyle Miller, 3. 22-Garen Linder, 4. 19-T.J. Hartman, 5. 27dd-David Hoiness, 6. 96-Mack Brown, 7. 21w-Vern Wheeler.

First “B” Feature: 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 13-Chadd Noland, 3. 2m-Mike Melwicks, 4. 27dd-David Hoiness, 5. 21w-Vern Wheeler, 6. 12p-Randy Pierce, 7. 24-Theo McCarty, 8. 87a-Andrew Marshala.

Second “B” Feature: 1. 0j-Jay Cole, 2. 31-Colton Akerstrom, 3. 96-Mack Brown, 4. 73-Danielle Huson, 5. 26f-Shane Forte, 6. 11w-Shane Broers, 7. 5d-Josh DeWitt. DNS: 29-Travis Rilat.

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 6-Kyle Hirst, 2. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 3. 39c-Jason Solwold, 4. 23-Seth Bergman, 5. 98m-Mitch Olson, 6. 55-Trey Starks, 7. 11-Roger Crockett, 8. 41-Jason Johnson, 9. 7n-Jayme Barnes, 10. 94-Steven Tiner, 11. 08-Steve Vague, 12. 19-T.J. Hartman, 13. 10-Kyle Miller, 14. 22-Garen Linder, 15. 2L-Logan Forler, 16. 2m-Mike Melwicks, 17. 13-Chadd Noland, 18. 96-Mack Brown, 19. 31-Colton Akerstrom, 20. 0j-Jay Cole.

ASCS Northwest Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Roger Crockett 1,116, 2. Jason Solwold 1,019, 3. Mitch Olson 994, 4. Seth Bergman 958, 5. Henry Van Dam 910, 6 Jayme Barnes 889, 7. Trey Starks 762, 8. Garen Linder 738, 9. T.J. Hartman 735, 10. Steven Tiner 640.