Close this search box.

Herrera Hustles Up ASCS Southwest Win at Canyon Speedway Park!

Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (May 22, 2010) – Johnny Herrera picked off his second American Sprint Car Series Southwest feature win of the season by reaching victory lane in the return of winged Sprint Cars to Canyon Speedway Park on Saturday night.

The winner of the last winged feature atop the Peoria clay more than four years ago, Herrera took advantage of a late caution to take the top spot in Saturday night’s 25-lapper aboard the familiar No. 45x Maxim.

Albuquerque’s Herrera took the checkered flag in front of two-time and reigning series champion Rick Ziehl, who led much of the way and moved back atop the point charts with a runner-up finish.

Fifteen-year-old Joshua Hodges made the podium two-thirds New Mexico drivers by claiming the show position, with John Gaston and Bernie Smith rounding out the top five.

J.T. Imperial, Calvin Landis, Kaylene Verville, Koty McGullam and Jessica Van Dyke completed the top ten.

Herrera, Bud Goodwin and Gaston topped Saturday night’s heat race action.

ASCS Southwest Region Results from USA Raceway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 45x-Johnny Herrera, 2. 22-Mike Rux, Jr., 3. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 4. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 5. 22x-Jesse Baker, 6. 42-Rick Boughan, 7. 66-Jessica Van Dyke, 8. 67-Travis Cooley.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 15-Bud Goodwin, 2. 57x-Steve Stone, 3. 90-Lance Norick, 4. 01-Kaylene Verville, 5. 79a-Kurt Stults, 6. 44k-Koty McGullam, 7. 20az-Steve Martin.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 22j-John Gaston, 2. 79-Calvin Landis, 3. 41-Joshua Williams, 4. 1x-J.T. Imperial, 5. 97-Bernie Smith, 6. 15c-Joey Chester, 7. 14-Darrell Sickles.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 45x-Johnny Herrera, 2. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 3. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 4. 22j-John Gaston, 5. 97-Bernie Smith, 6. 1x-J.T. Imperial, 7. 79-Calvin Landis, 8. 01-Kaylene Verville, 9. 44k-Koty McGullam, 10. 66-Jessica Van Dyke, 11. 90-Lance Norick, 12. 79a-Kurt Stults, 13. 67-Travis Cooley, 14. 22x-Jesse Baker, 15. 15-Bud Goodwin, 16. 22-Mike Rux, Jr., 17. 15c-Joey Chester, 18. 41-Joshua Williams, 19. 42-Rick Boughan, 20. 57x-Steve Stone, 21. 20az-Steve Martin. DNS: 14-Darrell Sickles.

ASCS Southwest Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Rick Ziehl 534, 2. John Gaston 532, 3. Calvin Landis 490, 4. Kaylene Verville 455, 5. J.T. Imperial 448, 6. Rick Boughan 414, 7. Steve Stone 409, 8. (tie) Johnny Herrera and Jessica Van Dyke 408, 10. Koty McGullam 392.