Close this search box.

Gulf South Gala at HoT and Texas Thunder Speedway!

Cody Morris, Tulsa, Oklahoma (4-23-2012) – The Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region resumes the 2012 campaign following a recent double with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour presented by MavTV.

The Gulf South regulars are likely happy to see them go as National Tour invaders have taken each of the six contests thus far in the 2012 campaign.

With National Tour forces assembling for action in Oklahoma and Arkansas, the Gulf South pilots will attack each other this weekend for bragging rights.

The weekend pair features the seventh and eighth runnings’ of a 2012 Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South filled to the brim with 26 night’s of action.

Danbury, Texas’ reigning Gulf South champion Ray Allen Kulhanek is off to a great start in his title defense, heading both Michael McNeil and former series’ champion Brandon Berryman by over 60 points heading into the weekend pair of Gulf South events.

Friday’s weekend opener at Waco marks the second of 3 Gulf South visits of the 2012 campaign, with Knoxville, Iowa’s Wayne Johnson taking a portion of his trio of Gulf South wins at the wild ¼ mile bullring on March 30th.

Saturday’s debut at Killeen’s Texas Thunder Speedway features the first ASCS event held at the semi-banked ¼ oval.

Both evenings of Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region bullring action begin at 8pm.

For more information regarding Waco’s Heart O’ Texas Speedway, please visit

For more information regarding Killeen’s Texas Thunder Speedway, please visit

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Heart O’ Texas Speedway:
3/30/12 – Wayne Johnson (Gulf South)
7/29/11 – Matt Covington (Gulf South vs. Lone Star)
6/10/11 – Kevin Ramey (Lone Star)
4/1/11 – Aaron Reutzel (Gulf South)
7/23/10 – Ray Allen Kulhanek (Gulf South vs. Lone Star)
5/14/10 – Brandon Berryman (Gulf South)
7/31/09 – Tommy Bryant (Gulf South vs. Lone Star)
6/5/09 – Trey Robb (Gulf South vs. Lone Star)
4/3/09 – Skip Wilson (Lone Star)
8/22/08 – Greg Rilat (Gulf South)
5/25/08 – Ryan Hall (Gulf South)
9/14/07 – Kevin Ramey (Sooner)
8/31/07 – Brandon Berryman (Gulf South vs. Sooner)
9/15/06 – Kevin Ramey (Gulf South)
7/21/06 – Jason Johnson (Gulf South vs. Sooner Region)
10/15/04 – Kevin Ramey (Gulf South)
9/17/04 – Kevin Ramey (Gulf South)
6/18/04 – Claud Estes (Gulf South)

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV, ASCS also consists of eleven different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at