Close this search box.

Final Two Rounds of ASCS Red River Challenge This Weekend!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (July 12, 2010) – The ASCS Lone Star and ASCS Sooner Regions square off for the final time of 2010 with a pair of events south of the Red River this coming weekend.

Crandall, Texas’ RPM Speedway hosts the fourth round of the ASCS Red River Challenge on Friday night, with Kennedale’s Cowtown Speedway hosting the fifth and final round on Saturday night. Both events offer up a $2,000 winner’s share with a minimum of $300 to start.

After Lucas Oil National invader Jason Johnson topped the opening leg of the Red River Challenge at Devil’s Bowl Speedway on June 18, American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region title contenders Kenneth Walker and Sean McClelland have topped the ensuing two rounds at Devil’s Bowl (June 19) and Lawton Speedway (July 10).

Riding the momentum of Saturday night’s Red River Challenge triumph at Lawton Speedway, Tulsa’s Sean McClelland carries the ASCS Sooner Region points lead into the weekend as he vies for a second series title.

McClelland holds a 44-point advantage over reigning series champion Joe Wood, Jr., of Oklahoma City, with Sapulpa’s Walker, Tulsa’s Donnie Ray Crawford and Oklahoma City’s Andy Shouse rounding out the current top five.

Eric Baldaccini of Keller, TX, will lead the ASCS Lone Star forces in an effort to balance out the win charts. Baldaccini holds a 106-point edge over Godley’s Claud Estes in the ASCS Lone Star title chase with Lubbock’s Preston Peebles II, Flower Mound’s Justin Melton and Burleson’s John Ricketts rounding out the current top five.

Defending ASCS Lone Star champion and two-time ASCS Sooner champ Kevin Ramey of Fort Worth, TX topped both Regional events at RPM Speedway last year, while two-time ASCS Sooner champion Brian McClelland bested the Lone Star forces at Cowtown last month.

Friday’s action at RPM Speedway goes green at 8:00 p.m., with Saturday’s Cowtown card firing off at 7:00 p.m.

The semi-banked, ¼-mile RPM Speedway dirt oval is located southeast of Crandall, TX, on US 175 to CR 4106 (Bud Story Road exit) to the intersection of CR 4104. For more information, contact the track at 972-427-6822.

Cowtown Speedway, “The Fastest Lil’ Dirt Track in Texas”, is located in Kennedale, TX, just east of Fort Worth off I-20 Exit 442-A, then 1.7 miles southeast on Mansfield Highway, then 1.4 miles southwest on New Hope Road. For more information, contact the track at 817-478-9952.

The 2010 slate of ASCS Lone Star Region competition consists of 17 nights of action at seven different tracks throughout North Texas and one to the north of the Red River in southwest Oklahoma.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region is slated for 15 nights of racing action at nine different tracks throughout Oklahoma, Texas and Missouri in 2010.

[b Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at RPM Speedway:]
9/4/09 – Kevin Ramey (Gulf South vs. Lone Star)
7/10/09 – Kevin Ramey (Lone Star)

[b Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Cowtown Speedway:]
6/12/10 – Brian McClelland (Lone Star)
10/10/09 – Tony Bruce, Jr. (Gulf South/Lone Star/Sooner)
8/29/09 – Travis Rilat (Lone Star)
6/27/09 – Kevin Ramey (Lone Star)
4/4/09 – Kevin Ramey (Lone Star)
10/11/08 – Brian Brown (National vs. Sooner)
10/10/08 – Gavin Punch (National vs. Sooner)
8/23/08 – Kolt Walker (Gulf South)
7/26/08 – Brad Welborn (Sooner)
5/17/08 – Gary Taylor (Sooner)
4/5/08 – Travis Rilat (Sooner)
9/15/07 – Nick Smith (Sooner)
7/7/07 – Brian McClelland (Sooner)
4/14/07 – Kevin Ramey (Sooner)
9/23/06 – Travis Rilat (Sooner)
6/10/06 – Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Sooner)
4/8/06 – Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Sooner)
9/24/05 – Travis Rilat (Sooner)
6/25/05 – Jason Martin (National vs. Sooner)
4/9/05 – Sean McClelland (Sooner)
9/25/04 – Andy Shouse (Sooner)
5/29/04 – Kevin Ramey (Sooner)

[b Current points:]

ASCS Lone Star Region Points (Top 10): 1. 4-Eric Baldaccini 1,021, 2. 74e-Claud Estes 915, 3. 0c-Preston Peebles II 889, 4. 11-Justin Melton 868, 5. 76-John Ricketts 867, 6. 45-Martin Edwards 865, 7. 30-Brandon Corn 848, 8. 7m-Kevin Ramey 833, 9. 74x-Joshua Hodges 798, 10. 25-Brian McClelland 754.

[b American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten):] 1. 1-Sean McClelland 930, 2. 03-Joe Wood, Jr. 886, 3. 2-Kenneth Walker 867, 4. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford 830, 5. 27-Andy Shouse 806, 6. 25-Brian McClelland 725, 7. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr. 687, 8. 21$-Michelle Decker 600, 9. 1j-Danny Jennings 555, 10. 74x-Joshua Hodges 553.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at