Close this search box.

Electric ASCS Rocky Mountain Double on Tap at…

[b Electric ASCS Rocky Mountain Double on Tap at Great Falls]

[i Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (August 31, 2009)]

The American Sprint Car Series Rocky Mountain Region championship battle continues with this weekend’s two-night stop at Electric City Speedway in Great Falls, MT.

The series is set to take to the high-banked, 3/10-mile clay oval for two full nights of action on Saturday and Sunday of this Labor Day holiday weekend.

Leading the way into the weekend is 17-year-old Jake Ossenfort of Rapid City, SD. With eight top-ten feature runs in nine events, including back-to-back runner-up finishes in the last two events, Ossenfort holds a 20-point advantage over Billings, MT, shoe Jeremy McCune.

While Ossenfort and McCune battle it out to determine who becomes the ninth different series champion in as many years, Kolter Kosten of Douglas, WY, enters the weekend ranked third in points with Randy Pierce (Meridian, ID) and Mark Sweet (Rock Springs, WY) rounding out the current top five.

The balance of the current top ten in ASCS Rocky Mountain points includes Tucker McCune (Shepherd, MT), Bob Schaeffer (New Castle, CO), Danielle Ossenfort (Rapid City, SD), Brent Kronfuss (Bozeman, MT) and Mike Posey (Rock Springs, MT).

The ASCS Rocky Mountain Region boasts eight different winners in nine feature events thus far in 2009, with Kronfuss the only repeat winner. Single triumphs have been claimed by Jeremy McCune, Joe Ramaker, Justyn Cox, Joshua Hodges, Jared Ridge, Roger Crockett and Ned Powers.

Both nights of racing action at Electric City Speedway are slated to get under way at 7:00 p.m.

Electric City Speedway is located in Great Falls, MT, 2.2 miles north of US 89 on US 87, then 50 feet west, then north. For more information, contact the track at 406-727-4884.

The ninth year of action for the American Sprint Car Series Rocky Mountain Region is slated to consist of 13 events at six tracks throughout Wyoming, Montana, Idaho and New Mexico.

Past ASCS Rocky Mountain Region Feature Winners at Electric City Speedway:
6/27/09 – Roger Crockett
6/26/09 – Jared Ridge
9/3/06 – Joe Ramaker
9/2/06 – Paxton Lambrecht
7/26/03 – Randi Miller
7/25/03 – Randi Miller
7/20/02 – Randi Miller
7/19/02 – Randi Miller

The American Sprint Car Series, in its 18th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing events, brings the best of Sprint Car racing to nearly 100 different tracks throughout 25 states and Canada in 2009. Anchored by the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of a dozen different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at