Close this search box.

Eagle Nationals This Weekend for Lucas Oil ASCS!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (June 7, 2010) – Tony Bruce, Jr., raced at Eagle Raceway’s Nebraska Cup last September and liked the racy, high-banked, 1/3-mile clay oval so much that he decided the storied Nebraska track needed its own ASCS National event.

That’s exactly what’s in store for the rabid race fans in Nebraska this coming weekend, as TBJ Promotions brings the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters to Eagle, Nebraska’s Eagle Raceway for the first time ever with this weekend’s Eagle Nationals on Friday and Saturday.

Two full nights of competition, both under the lights of the VERSUS and MavTV cameras for later broadcast, featuring 50 or so of the nation’s top Sprint Car drivers will unfold atop the Eagle clay, with Saturday night’s Eagle Nationals victor taking the $6,000 winner’s share.

Both nights of competition also award points toward the 2010 ASCS Midwest Regional championship as well.

Leading the way into the weekend is 20-year-old Broken Arrow, OK, competitor Brady Bacon, who will try to pull off a feat that has only happened once before in series history; extend a winning streak beyond three races.

After sweeping the Second Annual Steve King Memorial at the Jetmore Motorplex over Memorial Day Weekend for his initial pair of Lucas Oil ASCS National triumphs, Bacon added a third series win in a row this past Saturday night at I-30 Speedway.

Only once in the series 577 National feature events dating back to 1992 has a driver posted four or more consecutive wins, that taking place in 2005 when Gary Wright reeled off five triumphs in a row.

With his three race victory run along with finishes of second and third in another pair of events, Bacon has extended his lead in the series $60,000 point chase to 63 points over 2008 series champion Jason Johnson of Eunice, LA.

Racer/promoter Tony Bruce, Jr., of Liberal, KS, who topped last September’s Nebraska Cup after a spirited duel with Jesse Hockett, is just another ten points back in third, with defending Lucas Oil ASCS champion Shane Stewart of Bixby, OK, and three-time ASCS National champion Tim Crawley of Benton, AR, rounding out the current top five.

The balance of the current top ten in Lucas Oil ASCS National points includes Brodix Rookie of the Year contender Kyle Hirst of Loomis, CA, 20-year-old Jack Dover of Springfield, NE, Danny Wood of Norman, OK, 20-year-old rookie contender Matt Covington of Glenpool, OK, and Zach Chappell of Talala, OK.

While “The Texan”, Gary Wright is just outside the top ten after missing Saturday night’s feature at I-30 Speedway, other Lucas Oil ASCS title contenders that have made each of the six events thus far in 2010 include Ricky Logan (Little Rock, AR), Darren Long (Elida, OH), Travis Rilat (Forney, TX) and rookie contenders Dustin Morgan (Tulsa, OK), Channin Tankersley (Highlands, TX), Justyn Cox (Clarksburg, CA), Austen Wheatley (Lake Stevens, WA) and Andrew Marshala (Shawnee, OK).

While Eagle Raceway ace Jack Dover is ranked seventh in his second season of Lucas Oil ASCS National competition, he also holds the ASCS Midwest points lead entering the weekend with other top Midwest contenders including Billy Alley, Chad Humston, Ryan Humston, Jason Danley, Eric Lutz, Doug Lovegrove, Dylan Peterson, Toby Chapman and Gage Dorr.

Weekend passes for the Eagle Nationals featuring the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National series are available for just $30, a savings of $5, by ordering from prior to race day.

The Series:

Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters

When & Where:

Friday night, June 11 at 7:00 p.m. – Eagle Raceway
Saturday night, June 12 at 7:00 p.m. – Eagle Raceway

Track Information:

Eagle Raceway (Eagle, NE) – 1/3-mile high-banked clay oval located off I-80 Exit 420, then 11 miles south to SR 63, then west. For more information, contact 402-238-2595 or check

Lucas Oil ASCS Eagle Raceway History:

This weekend’s Eagle Nationals marks the first time for the Lucas Oil ASCS National Sprint Cars to take to Eagle Raceway’s high-banked, 1/3-mile clay oval. It will mark the 110th track to host an ASCS National event since 1992 and the first ASCS National event in Nebraska since Brian Brown posted an I-80 Speedway win in August of 2005.

Current Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters Points:

Top Twenty: 1. Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, OK) 792, 2. Jason Johnson (Eunice, LA) 729, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr. (Liberal, KS) 719, 4. Shane Stewart (Bixby, OK) 713, 5. Tim Crawley (Benton, AR) 708, 6. Kyle Hirst (Loomis, CA) 660, 7. Jack Dover (Springfield, NE) 658, 8. Danny Wood (Norman, OK) 648, 9. Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK) 637, 10. Zach Chappell (Talala, OK) 621, 11. Ricky Logan (Little Rock, AR) 570, 12. Gary Wright (Hooks, TX) 569, 13. Darren Long (Elida, OH) 554, 14. Travis Rilat (Forney, TX) 547, 15. Dustin Morgan (Tulsa, OK) 503, 16. Johnny Herrera (Albuquerque, NM) 501, 17. Channin Tankersley (Highlands, TX) 499, 18. Justyn Cox (Clarksburg, CA) 483, 19. Austen Wheatley (Lake Stevens, WA) 457, 20. Andrew Marshala (Shawnee, OK) 433.

Brodix Rookie of the Year Points: 1. Kyle Hirst (Loomis, CA) 660, 2. Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK) 637, 3. Dustin Morgan (Tulsa, OK) 503, 4. Channin Tankersley (Highlands, TX) 499, 5. Justyn Cox (Clarksburg, CA) 483, 6. Austen Wheatley (Lake Stevens, WA) 457, 7. Andrew Marshala (Shawnee, OK) 433, 8. Joshua Hodges (Tijeras, NM) 350, 9. Don Young (Bartlett, TN) 325.

2010 Lucas Oil Sprint Car Feature Winners:

Brady Bacon 3, Zach Chappell 1, Matt Covington 1, Sammy Swindell 1.

Lucas Oil Sprint Cars presented by K&N Filters – A Look Ahead:

June 26 – Lake Ozark Speedway (Eldon, MO)
July 10 – I-90 Speedway (Hartford, SD)
July 16/17 – Grays Harbor Raceway (Elma, WA)
July 23/24 – Cottage Grove Speedway (Cottage Grove, OR)
July 30 – LA Raceway (La Monte, MO)

Lucas Oil Sprint Cars on the Web:

Those unable to catch all the action in person can listen to every Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters live at

Also, the Lucas Oil ASCS Show airs on each Tuesday night at 8:00 p.m. ET, recapping the previous week’s events while also previewing upcoming action.

Official results, championship point updates, photos and race notes will be available at

Lucas Oil Sprint Cars on TV:

The Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters will be featured in ten one-hour shows broadcast on a tape-delayed basis on the VERSUS Network and MavTV.

Events to be aired on VERSUS and MavTV include the following:

Event Date – Track (Location) – VERSUS Air Date & Time (All Times Eastern & Subject to Change):
March 19 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX) – 6/6/10 @ 6:00 p.m.
March 20 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX) – Rained Out
June 11 – Eagle Raceway (Eagle, NE) – 11/21/10 @ 4:00 p.m.
June 12 – Eagle Raceway (Eagle, NE) – 11/21/10 @ 5:00 p.m.
September 25 – Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) – 11/28/10 @ 6:00 p.m.
October 1 – Riverside Speedway (W. Memphis, AR) – TBD
October 2 – Riverside Speedway (W. Memphis, AR) – TBD
October 28 – I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR) – 12/5/10 @ 5:00 p.m.
October 29 – I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR) – 12/5/10 @ 6:00 p.m.
October 30 – I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR) – 12/19/10 @ 4:00 p.m.

The Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters is currently slated for 36 nights of racing action at 18 different tracks throughout the nation, with the country’s top Sprint Car drivers set to battle it out for their share of the $250,000 points fund.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at