Close this search box.

Dover Dazzles ASCS Midwest at U.S. 36

Lonnie Wheatley, CAMERON, Mo. (June 18, 2010) – Jack Dover nabbed his second American Sprint Car Series Midwest feature win of the year by topping Friday night’s 25-lap feature event atop the high-banked U.S. 36 Raceway clay oval.

Dover outdueled Bronson Maeschen over the race’s mid-stages and then held off a late charge from Jonathan Cornell to take the victory aboard the Shaver-powered 3D Auto Transport No. 53 Eagle.

Dover beat Cornell to the stripe, with midget ace Mike Hess claiming the show position in his ASCS debut. Eric Todd was fourth, with Jon Corbin rounding out the top five.

Curtis Evans was sixth, with Jay Russell, Tyler Blank, Maeschen and Doug Lovegrove completing the top ten.

Maeschen and Dover diced for the lead for several laps before Maeschen spun to a stop after the pair split a lapped car on the eleventh round. Maeschen rebounded for top ten honors.

Dover, Zach Davis and Maeschen topped heat race action for the 20-car field.

ASCS Midwest Region Results from U.S. 36 Raceway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 53-Jack Dover, 2. 88-J. Kinder, 3. 76-Jay Russell, 4. 43-Frank Brown, 5. 75-Tyler Blank, 6. 1k-Kim Kennedy, 7. 11c-Dakota Carroll.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 3z-Zach Davis, 2. 21T-Eric Todd, 3. 9m-Jon Corbin, 4. 1p-Curtis Evans, 5. 44-Doug Lovegrove, 6. 19s-Steven Cross, 7. 72-Curtis Boyer.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 1-Bronson Maeschen, 2. 18-Mike Hess, 3. 28-Jonathan Cornell, 4. 5-Eric Lutz, 5. 48-David Brown, 6. 33-Austin Alumbaugh.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 53-Jack Dover, 2. 28-Jonathan Cornell, 3. 18-Mike Hess, 4. 21T-Eric Todd, 5. 9m-Jon Corbin, 6. 1p-Curtis Evans, 7. 76-Jay Russell, 8. 75-Tyler Blank, 9. 1-Bronson Maeschen, 10. 44-Doug Lovegrove, 11. 48-David Brown, 12. 19s-Steven Cross, 13. 11c-Dakota Carroll, 14. 5-Eric Lutz, 15. 33-Austin Alumbaugh, 16. 3z-Zach Davis, 17. 72-Curtis Boyer, 18. 43-Frank Brown, 19. 88-J. Kinder, 20. 1k-Kim Kennedy.

ASCS Midwest Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Jack Dover 962, 2. Eric Lutz 786, 3. Billy Alley 750, 4. Doug Lovegrove 708, 5. Jason Danley 657, 6. John Klabunde 499, 7. Brian Brown 484, 8. Chad Humston 472, 9. Ryan Roberts 470, 10. Tige Jensen 459.