Close this search box.

Devil’s Bowl up next for Oil Medics Lone Star!

Cody Morris, Tulsa, Oklahoma (4-16-2012) – The 2012 Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region campaign gets back underway this Saturday, April 21st at the famous Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Saturday’s outing at the famed half-mile oval will feature the 1st of seven Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region visits to the legendary Mesquite, Texas venue, comprising approximate half of the 2012 Lone Star Region campaign.

This event will feature the 1st of two stand alone Lone Star Region outings at Devil’s Bowl, as a pair of dates against the ASCS Sooner and ASCS National Tour prelude the 2nd stand alone series’ outing, before the series’ finale in August against their Gulf South rivals.

In the fourth season of Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region action, this Saturday will mark the 1st stand alone Lone Star event at Devil’s Bowl in series’ history and the tenth overall following nine regional duels with ASCS Sooner and Gulf South rivals.

Saturday’s Devil’s Bowl Speedway event features the 2nd of fourteen events on the 2012 Lone Star slate. Knoxville, Iowa’s Wayne Johnson took season opening honors on April 7th in Kilgore, Texas following a rare mistake by defending Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Champion and Glenpool, Oklahoma native Matt Covington.

Following an ASCS career best runner up finish in the Kilgore’s season opener, Mesquite’s Martin Edwards effectively enters the Devil’s Bowl fray in the early 2012 series’ point lead, as despite tremendous Lone Star State success early in the season, Iowa resident Wayne Johnson will likely run a nomadic schedule throughout the 2012 season.

Edwards‘ advantage is two-fold as he leads the series‘ into not just his hometown, but home track; with grandfather and Sprint Car Hall of Fame promoter Lanny Edwards at the helm of the famous ½ mile for the 39th consecutive season.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway directions per take Interstate 20 East of Mesquite to the Lawson Road exit (three miles east of the I-635 interchange). The speedway is three and one-half miles north on Lawson Road. ATTENTION:
LAWSON ROAD between US-80 and the railroad tracks is closed to all traffic

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Devil’s Bowl Speedway:
7/9/11 – Danny Wood (Lone Star vs. Sooner)
6/18/11 – Joe Wood, Jr. (Lone Star vs. Sooner)
6/17/11 – Tony Bruce, Jr. (Lone Star vs. Sooner)
5/7/11 – Jason Johnson (Lone Star vs. Sooner)
7/24/10 – Kolt Walker (Gulf South vs. Lone Star)
6/19/10 – Kenneth Walker (Lone Star vs. Sooner)
6/18/10 – Jason Johnson (Lone Star vs. Sooner)
9/5/09 – Gary Wright (Gulf South vs. Lone Star)
5/9/09 – Gary Wright (Lone Star vs. Sooner)
9/27/08 – Justin Spoerl (Sooner)
9/1/07 – Jason Johnson (Gulf South vs. Sooner)
7/22/06 – Larry Neighbors (Gulf South vs. Sooner)
7/16/05 – Kevin Ramey (Gulf South vs. Sooner)
10/16/04 – Kevin Ramey (Gulf South vs. Sooner)
7/12/03 – Kevin Ramey (Gulf South vs. Sooner)

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV, ASCS also consists of eleven different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at