Close this search box.

Davis Takes ASCS Canyon Win at Aztec

Lonnie Wheatley, AZTEC, N.M. (July 2, 2010) – A new venue for the American Sprint Car Series Canyon Region netted a familiar result with reigning series champion Charles Davis, Jr., topping Friday night’s 30-lap feature event at Aztec Speedway.

Davis took advantage of his pole starting position aboard the Roush Yates Ford-powered Massey Motorsports No. 50, racing to his fifth series win of the year in the opening night of the two-night wingless ASCS Canyon debut at Aztec.

Davis was chased to the stripe by tenth-starter R.J. Johnson, with Johnny Herrera, Rick Ziehl and Jeremy Sherman rounding out the top five.

Ronnie Clark was sixth, with Mike Martin, Rickey Hood, Andrew Reinbold and Bob Ream, Jr., completing the top ten.

Bruce St. James, Ziehl and Davis topped Friday night’s heat race action.

ASCS Canyon Region Results from Aztec Speedway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 7k-Bruce St. James, 2. 21-Jeremy Sherman, 3. 15-Bud Goodwin, 4. 75-Rickey Hood, 5. 78-Bob Ream, Jr., 6. 12x-Josh Grady, 7. 45-Jason Grady, 8. 7b-Steve Tellas.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 2. 12-Josh Pelkey, 3. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 4. 93-Justin Quinn, 5. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 6. 32b-Brian Hosford, 7. 73-Nick Rael.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 16-Mike Martin, 3. 45x-Johnny Herrera, 4. 6-Ronnie Clark, 5. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 6. 11w-Tim West, 7. 24-Jordan Mattson.

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 3. 45x-Johnny Herrera, 4. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 5. 21-Jeremy Sherman, 6. 6-Ronnie Clark, 7. 16-Mike Martin, 8. 75-Rickey Hood, 9. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 10. 78-Bob Ream, Jr., 11. 15-Bud Goodwin, 12. 32b-Brian Hosford, 13. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 14. 12x-Josh Grady, 15. 93-Justin Quinn, 16. 7k-Bruce St. James, 17. 24-Jordan Mattson, 18. 45-Jason Grady, 19. 73-Nick Rael, 20. 12-Josh Pelkey. DNS: 11w-Tim West, 7b-Steve Tellas.

ASCS Canyon Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Charles Davis, Jr. 1,121, 2. Jeremy Sherman 1,000, 3. Mike Martin 987, 4. Josh Pelkey 982, 5. R.J. Johnson 964, 6. Andrew Reinbold 949, 7. Ronnie Clark 867, 8. Stevie Sussex 826, 9. Brian Hosford 771, 10. Dalten Gabbard 751.