Close this search box.

Davis Delivers a Thriller at Arizona Speedway!

Cody Morris, Apache Junction, Arizona (4-14-2012) – The inaugural ASCS Canyon Region visit to Et-Motopark’s Arizona Speedway had a packed house on their feet for a thrilling finish.

Front row starter Bob Ream Jr. jumped to an early lead in the 30 lap ASCS Canyon main event. A lap two incident involving Mike Bonneau and Tommy Lee forced both to an early exit, with a lap 4 caution for an 8 car pileup proving to be the final stoppage of the event.

Ream led out of the restarts with Phoenix native RJ Johnson in pursuit. Johnson battled by on the 12th circuit, but two time ASCS Canyon champ Charles Davis Jr. was on the move from his 4th row starting spot.

Steadily gaining ground late in the race, Davis executed a brilliant move to the high side’s of turns 3 and 4 on the final to lap to snatch the victory from Johnson’s grasp. Davis’ turn 4 final lap pass capped a thrilling night of action in the inugural Canyon clash on Arizona Speedway’s 3/8 mile oval.

The thrilling pass also registered the 2nd consecutive ASCS Canyon score for Davis, thrusting the 2009 & 2010 ASCS Canyon champion to a slight point lead aboard the Massey Motorsports, RSS RaceCars, CMI, Conrow PNEU Controls, Rod End Supply, CNR Machine, Bell Helmets, and Penske shocks supported no. 50 machine.

Johnson settled for his 2nd runner up finish in as many Canyon outings, with fellow Phoenix native Bruce St. James claiming show position honors. Glendale, Arizona’s Bob Ream Jr. crossed the finish line 4th, with Peoria’s Josh Pelkey completing the top five finishing order.

Mike Colegrove, Rick Ziehl, and RJ Johnson each earned heat race wins over the 22 car ASCS Canyon Region field.

Featured Photo: TKA Photography

2012 ASCS Canyon Region
Arizona Speedway – Apache Junction, Arizona
April 14th, 2012 – Race 2 of 21

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 50-Charles Davis Jr[7]; 2. 51-R.J. Johnson[3]; 3. 7k-Bruce St. James[1]; 4. 8-Bob Ream Jr[2]; 5. 12-Josh Pelkey[4]; 6. 41w-Rick Ziehl[8]; 7. 17-Mike Colegrove[6]; 8. 93-Justin Quinn[14]; 9. 23-Colby Copeland[15]; 10. 27N-Nick Aiuto[12]; 11. 32B-Brian Hosford[9]; 12. 6-Ronnie Clark[17]; 13. 17k-Kyle Danielson[16]; 14. 9az-Matt Lundy[21]; 15. 5-Jody Wirth[20]; DNF 9-Ryan Linder[11]; DNF 6JT-Michael Curtis[18]; DNF 19-Andy Reinbold[10]; DNF 77-Dalten Gabbard[5]; DNF 29-Mike Bonneau[13]; DNF 53-Tom Lee[19]; DNS 99-James AragonLap Leaders: Bob Ream Jr. 1-11, RJ Johnson 12-29, Charles Davis Jr. 30

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 17-Mike Colegrove; 2. 19-Andy Reinbold; 3. 12-Josh Pelkey; 4. 32B-Brian Hosford; 5. 29-Mike Bonneau; 6. 6-Ronnie Clark; 7. 9az-Matt Lundy; 8. 5-Jody Wirth

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 41w-Rick Ziehl; 2. 7k-Bruce St. James; 3. 77-Dalten Gabbard; 4. 9-Ryan Linder; 5. 23-Colby Copeland; 6. 17k-Kyle Danielson; 7. 53-Tom Lee

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 51-R.J. Johnson; 2. 50-Charles Davis Jr; 3. 8-Bob Ream Jr; 4. 27N-Nick Aiuto; 5. 93-Justin Quinn; 6. 6JT-Michael Curtis; DNS 99-James Aragon