Close this search box.

Dalman Takes S.O.D. Winston Victory

Bob Buffenbarger / Bryan Hulbert – Rothbury, MI – (August 31,2012) – Gregg Dalman used his experience to negotiate a slick track to win the 25 lap Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP feature Friday night at Winston Speedway.

Ryan Grubaugh and Dustin Daggett made up the front row with Grubaugh shooting out to the early lead.

The yellow flew with only three laps in the books for a tangle between Pobanz, Nate Bostrom and Kirkendall in turn three. Eighth starting Steve Irwin had already moved into 3rd by this time.

Shortly after retaking the green Irwin would take the lead from Grubaugh with a fast closing Gregg Dalman giving chase.

With 10 laps in Irwin was hanging on over Dalman, Grubaugh, Dustin Daggett and Ryan Ruhl. Lap 14 saw Dalman pass Irwin with slower traffic starting to become an issue.

Lots of scrambling was taking place with Dalman still leading in the closing laps before the white flag lap saw Irwin and Ruhl coming together.

Prior to the tangle, Grubaugh was able to mount a charge; pulling even with Dalman but to no avail as the cagy veteran proved up to the challenge. As the green and white s flew Daggett tried for the bonsai charge but would come up short, allowing Dalman to take the win.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Results
Winston Speedway – Rothbury, Mi.
Friday August 31,2012

Car Count: 24

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 49T-Gregg Dalman; 2. 10S-Jay Steinbach; 3. 16-Ryan Ruhl; 4. 73-Dusty Shriver; 5. 14-Brett Mann; 6. 27K-Ryan Kirkendall; 7. 2G-Joe Geibe; 8. 4-Eric Smith

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 46-Robert Huisken; 2. 21T-Troy Chehowski; 3. 1-Steve Irwin; 4. 31-Andy Teunessen; 5. 81-Keith Love; 6. 21-Matt Lumbert; 7. 20A-Andy Chehowski; 8. 6B-Don Bostrum

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 00-Ryan Grubaugh; 2. 2M-Dustin Daggett; 3. 10X-Davey Brown; 4. 89-Chris Pobanz; 5. 70-Jim Lingar; 6. 18-D.J. Lamance; 7. 36-Nate Bostrum; 8. 16C-Greg Wheeler

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 20A-Andy Chehowski; 2. 36-Nate Bostrum; 3. 2G-Joe Geibe; 4. 21-Matt Lumbert; 5. 6B-Don Bostrum; 6. 4-Eric Smith

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 49T-Gregg Dalman; 2. 2M-Dustin Daggett; 3. 00-Ryan Grubaugh; 4. 10S-Jay Steinbach; 5. 81-Keith Love; 6. 21T-Troy Chehowski; 7. 1-Steve Irwin; 8. 16-Ryan Ruhl; 9. 31-Andy Teunessen; 10. 10X-Davey Brown; 11. 73-Dusty Shriver; 12. 20A-Andy Chehowski; 13. 36-Nate Bostrum; 14. 46-Robert Huisken; 15. 2G-Joe Geibe; 16. 27K-Ryan Kirkendall; 17. 21-Matt Lumbert; 18. 70-Jim Lingar; 19. 14-Brett Mann; 20. 89-Chris Pobanz