Close this search box.

Daggett Takes ASCS SOD Honors at Hartford

Mike Strevel, HARTFORD, Mich. (May 20, 2011) – On a warm Friday night at Hartford Motor Speedway, Dustin Daggett took the checkered flag for the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP main event at the big half-mile speedway.

An excellent field of 21 winged sprint cars made the first of two appearances at Hartford. They will return on September 9.

Daggett of Portland, MI, started in fourth position for the 25-lap main event. There were only a handful of yellow flags including three early in the main event. An incredible battle developed mid-race when 2010 champion Ryan Grubaugh passed Daggett only to be quickly passed back by the eventual winner.

The feature winner in his Maxim chassis was able to capture the $1,200 first prize in exciting fashion after that challenge. Several battles developed throughout the field with Gregg Dalman, Aaron Shaffer, Jason Blonde and Trey Smith all swapping positions in the later stages of the feature.

Daggett stated, “I just love running at these big go-fast tracks, I’m looking forward to coming back in September.” The winning driver took his eighth win in the last nine events at Hartford Motor Speedway. The winner of the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP feature thanked his fine sponsors including Miles Petroleum, Sweet Manufacturing, Glen’s Gas & Welding, Steve Winnie Auto Sales and Richardson Farms.

The top five finishers of the feature race for the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP were Daggett, Grubaugh, Dalman, Shaffer and Blonde.

Heat race wins were captured by Joe Bares, Jared Horstman and Shaffer. The fast car dash went to Dalman.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Results-
Friday May 20, 2011
Hartford Motor Speedway-Hartford, MI

Car Count (21)
Heat Races (Top 16 in passing points transfer to the “A” Feature)

Engler Machine and Tool Heat Race #1 (8 laps): 1. 91 Joe Bares, 2. 46 Robert Huisken, 3. 10 Davey Brown, 4. 70 Jim Lingar, 5. 19s Brett Mann, 6. 27k Ryan Kirkendall, 7. 50 Mike Burns–DNS

Lane Automotive/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 17 Jared Horstman, 2. 2m Dustin Daggett, 3. 14 Jason Blonde, 4. 49t Gregg Dalman, 5. 49 Shawn Dancer, 6. 50 Mark Grabill, 7. 73 Dustin Shriver

ARP Fasteners Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. 22s Aaron Shaffer, 2. 3w Ryan Grubaugh, 3. 25m Ken Mackey, 4. 11 Trey Smith, 5. 4 Josh Turner, 6. 21 Matt Lumbert, 7. 27r Ryan Ruhl-DNS

Gaerte Engines Fast Car Dash (4 Laps): 1. 49t Gregg Dalman, 2. 25m Ken Mackey, 3. 11 Trey Smith, 4. 70 Jim Lingar

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP “A” Feature

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2m Dustin Dagget, 2. 3w Ryan Grubaugh, 3. 49t Gregg Dalman, 4. 22s Aaron Shaffer, 5. 14 Jason Blonde, 6. 11 Trey Smith, 7. 91 Joe Bares, 8. 46 Robert Huisken, 9. 10 Davey Brown, 10. 49 Shawn Dancer , 11. 25m Ken Mackey, 12. 73 Dustin Shriver, 13. 70 Jim Lingar, 14. 4 Josh Turner, 15. 50 Mike Burns, 16. 21 Matt Lumbert, 17. 17 Jared Horstman, 18. 50 Mark Grabill, 19. 27k Ryan Kirkendall. DNS: 27r Ryan Ruhl, 19s Brett Mann.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Points (Top Ten): 1. Dustin Daggett 300, 2. Ryan Grubaugh 272, 3. Gregg Dalman 270, 4. Trey Smith 230, 5. Joe Bares 229, 6. Davey Brown 219, 7. Jared Horstman 218, 8. Shawn Dancer 212, 9. Robert Huisken 206, 10. Matt Lumbert 194.