Close this search box.

Covington Rolls to Sooner Region Victory

Bryan Hulbert – Sapulpa, Oklahoma (September 21, 2012) Lapped traffic went Matt Covington’s way this past Friday night against the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region at Creek County Speedway.

Rolling off seventh in the night’s 25 lap A-Feature, the XXX Chassis No. 11c rolled passed Dustin Morgan in slower traffic on lap 14 en-route to his third Sooner Region triumph of the season. Dustin Morgan would end up second with Joe Wood Jr. taking the final step on the podium. Mike Goodman and Jonathan Beason made up the top five.

Blake Hahn settled for sixth with Jamie Passmore seventh. After begin sent the tail of the field for crossing below the cone on an early restart, Logan Forler fought back to eighth with Seth Bergman, and Rick Wright Jr. completing the top ten.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region continues this Saturday September 22nd at Caney Valley Speedway in Caney, Kansas.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region
Creek County Speedway – Sapulpa, Oklahoma
September 21, 2012

Car Count: 28

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 11G-Mike Goodman; 2. 2-Dustin Morgan; 3. 23-Seth Bergman; 4. 22-Koby Barksdale; 5. 65L-Nicholas Lucito; 6. 4J-John James; DNF 21-Brandon Jennings

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 94-Blake Hahn; 2. 93-Matt Ward; 3. 14-Jordon Mallett; 4. 17-Brent Bates; 5. 010-Brian Roberts; DNS 77-Colton Brewer; 7. 7S-Shane Sellers

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 39-Kevin Swindell; 2. 36-Robert Sellers; 3. 8-Alex Sewell; 4. 35-Rick Wright Jr; 5. 5-Joe Bob Lee; 6. 22K-Kevin Barksdale; DNS 27-Andy Shouse

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 11C-Matt Covington; 2. 5H-Logan Forler; 3. 11S-Joe Wood Jr; 4. 36X-Jonathan Beason; 5. 4JX-Jamie Passmore; 6. 57-Kyle Chady; 7. 94L-Layne Himebaugh

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 4JX-Jamie Passmore; 2. 5-Joe Bob Lee; 3. 65L-Nicholas Lucito; 4. 010-Brian Roberts; 5. 57-Kyle Chady; 6. 7S-Shane Sellers; 7. 21-Brandon Jennings; 8. 4J-John James; 9. 94L-Layne Himebaugh; 10. 22K-Kevin Barksdale; DNS 77-Colton Brewer; DNS 27-Andy Shouse

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 11C-Matt Covington; 2. 2-Dustin Morgan; 3. 11S-Joe Wood Jr; 4. 11G-Mike Goodman; 5. 36X-Jonathan Beason; 6. 94-Blake Hahn; 7. 4JX-Jamie Passmore; 8. 5H-Logan Forler; 9. 23-Seth Bergman; 10. 35-Rick Wright Jr; 11. 8-Alex Sewell; 12. 93-Matt Ward; 13. 22-Koby Barksdale; 14. 5-Joe Bob Lee; 15. 17-Brent Bates; 16. 010-Brian Roberts; 17. 14-Jordon Mallett; 18. 65L-Nicholas Lucito; DNF 36-Robert Sellers; DNF 39-Kevin Swindell

Photo Credit: Bales Photography