Close this search box.

Covington gets his way at Lawton

Bryan Hulbert – Lawton, Oklahoma (July 28, 2012) Lapped traffic gives and lapped traffic takes and for Matt Covington it was a giving kind of night as the O.E.M. No 11c raced by Zach Chappell on lap nine en-route to victory at Lawton Speedway with the American Bank of Oklahoma and Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Regions.

Taking the high road to victory, Covington led an all Oil Field Equipment and Manufacturing podium with Mike Goodman and Joe Wood Jr. rounding out the top three spots.

Zach Chappell would cross the stripe fourth with Jake Martens fifth. Robert Sellers, Justin Melton, Andy Shouse, Sean McClelland, and Martin Edwards completed the top ten.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Region / Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region
Lawton Speedway – Lawton, Oklahoma
July 28, 2012

Car Count: 30

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 48-Jake Martens; 2. 50z-Zach Chappell; 3. 36-Robert Sellers; 4. 74E-Claud Estes III; 5. 22K-Kevin Barksdale; 6. 5-Joe Bob Lee; DNF 14-Michael Lang; DNF 11p-Preston Peebles II

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 11-Justin Melton; 2. 12m-Kyle McCutcheon; 3. 77-Colton Brewer; 4. 11s-Joe Wood Jr; 5. 7s-Shane Sellers; 6. 010-Brian Roberts; 7. 22-Koby Barksdale; 8. 7w-Dustin Welch

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 11c-Matt Covington; 2. 54-Evan Pardo; 3. 27-Andy Shouse; 4. 14B-Robert Byrom; 5. 4J-John James; 6. 57-Kyle Chady; DNS 81-Danny Wood; DNS 21-Brandon Jennings

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 11g-Mike Goodman; 2. 45-Martin Edwards; 3. 1-Sean McClelland; 4. 76-John Ricketts; 5. 17w-Josh Baughman; 6. 12w-Dale Wester; 7. 21-Wes Wofford

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 010-Brian Roberts; 2. 12w-Dale Wester; 3. 21-Wes Wofford; 4. 4J-John James; 5. 22-Koby Barksdale; 6. 22K-Kevin Barksdale; DNS 57-Kyle Chady; DNS 5-Joe Bob Lee; DNS 14-Michael Lang; DNS 7w-Dustin Welch; DNS 11p-Preston Peebles II; 12. 81-Danny Wood

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 11c-Matt Covington; 2. 11g-Mike Goodman; 3. 11s-Joe Wood Jr; 4. 50z-Zach Chappell; 5. 48-Jake Martens; 6. 36-Robert Sellers; 7. 11-Justin Melton; 8. 27-Andy Shouse; 9. 1-Sean McClelland; 10. 45-Martin Edwards; 11. 22-Koby Barksdale; 12. 76-John Ricketts; 13. 7s-Shane Sellers; 14. 74E-Claud Estes III; 15. 010-Brian Roberts; 16. 12w-Dale Wester; 17. 4J-John James; 18. 54-Evan Pardo; DNF 14B-Robert Byrom; DNF 12m-Kyle McCutcheon; DNF 77-Colton Brewer; DNF 17w-Josh Baughman; DNF 22K-Kevin Barksdale; DNF 21-Wes Wofford

Photo Credit: Thriller Photography