Close this search box.

Covington Captures Rumble round one at Devil’s Bowl

Cody Morris, MESQUITE, TEXAS (5-19-2012) – The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region met the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region for the first ASCS regional showdown of the 2012 campaign. (Michael Jackson Photo)

With the Lone Star forces in possession of the home turf at the famed half mile high banked oval in Mesquite, Texas; Devil’s Bowl Speedway was also the site of the inaugural and highly anticipated Red River Rumble.

In the first of four Red River Rumble events featuring the Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region vs. the American Bank of Oklahoma Sooner Region due this season, thirty five teams checked into Devil’s Bowl pits.

Defending ASCS Lone Star Champion and Glenpool, Oklahoma native Matt Covington capitalized a mid-race misfortune to take his second ASCS victory at Devil’s Bowl this season aboard the O.E.M. and T&L Tool Foundry no. 11c XXX.

A 2001 Sooner Region champ out of Norman, Oklahoma; Danny Jennings led the 24 car field to the start of the 25 lap main event and took command following a brief caution period for Logan Payne’s injured mount.

Talala, Oklahoma’s Zach Chappell had shot through the field from his 12th place starting spot and had begun to pressure Jennings until contact between the leading pair relegated both Sooner State pilots to an early exit.

Covington inherited the point and held off Oklahoma City’s Joe Wood Jr. creating a one-two finish for the defending ASCS regional champions. Fort Worth’s Kevin Ramey finished and started with show position honors.

A perennial warrior on the ASCS circuit, Forney, Texas native Travis Rilat advanced 7 positions to finish fourth, with Guthrie, Oklahoma’s Michelle Decker earning her first top five finish of the season after starting 13th.

Covington charged to victory lane just weeks ago in Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star action at Devil’s Bowl, and as he repeated that success, so too did Mesquite’s hometown pilot Martin Edwards. Having earned the Bishop’s Racing Component Hard Charger award in the April contest at Devil’s Bowl, Edwards again earned the Bishop’s Hard Charger award with little help from race stoppages, advancing a dozen spots to finish sixth.

While the point standings receive the regional x-ray; Covington’s victory does place reigning Lone Star titlist in the early lead of the inaugural Red River Rumble. The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region rebounds with a Saturday night, May 26th solo stand at Lawton Speedway before dueling with the Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region once again in the Round two of the inaugural Red River Rumble.

The Red River Rumble comprises the four ASCS Sooner vs. Lone Star matchups penned for the 2012 season. Round two of the Rumble will revisit Devil’s Bowl daring half mile on June 2nd. The final two Red River Rumble events will take place in successive weeks, with the Rumble charging into Cowtown Speedway’s bullring on July 21st. The Red River Rumble then crosses it’s watery namesake for the fourth and final affair on July 28th at the historic Lawton Speedway.

An industry leader in oil lubrication technology, the Fort Worth, Texas based Oil Medics have joined forces with associate sponsors City Vending, Mana Fleet, TBJ Promotions, Pro Tech Services, and the Auto Center of Burleson to bring regional race fans the inaugural Red River Rumble. The four race challenge currently pays $500 to the top driver in accumulated points, with $350 earmarked for the runner up team and $250 for the third place team.

ASCS Sooner vs. Lone Star
May 19th, 2012 / Red River Rumble round one of four
Devil’s Bowl Speedway / Mesquite, Texas

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 11c-Matt Covington[7]; 2. 03-Joe Wood Jr[9]; 3. 1a-Kevin Ramey[3]; 4. 29-Travis Rilat[11]; 5. 7-Michelle Decker[13]; 6. 45-Martin Edwards[18]; 7. 14-Michael Lang[10]; 8. 27-Andy Shouse[16]; 9. 11s-Patrick Stasa[5]; 10. 11-Justin Melton[14]; 11. 22-Koby Barksdale[2]; 12. 14B-Robert Byrom[15]; 13. 54-Evan Pardo[6]; 14. 36-Robert Sellers[21]; 15. 74E-Claud Estes III[20]; 16. 32-Derek Weaver[17]; 17. 76-John Ricketts[23]; 18. 12w-Dale Wester[19]; 19. 27x-Jesse Frazier[24]; 20. 7s-Shane Sellers[8]; 21. 45x-J.P. Bailey[22]; 22. 2-Logan Payne[4]; 23. 1J-Danny Jennings[1]; 24. 50z-Zach Chappell[12]Lap Leaders: Jennings 1-11, Covington 12-25

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 12w-Dale Wester[5]; 2. 74E-Claud Estes III[2]; 3. 36-Robert Sellers[8]; 4. 45x-J.P. Bailey[13]; 5. 76-John Ricketts[6]; 6. 27x-Jesse Frazier[9]; 7. 29-Brandon Hahn[3]; 8. 10-George White[10]; 9. 12-Shawn Mize[1]; 10. 57-Kyle Chady[11]; 11. 13-Bud Johnson[15]; 12. 5-Joe Bob Lee[4]; 13. 00-Kacee Frazier[14]; 14. 12x-Jeff Shaddock[16]; 15. 4x-Shawn Petersen[7]; 16. 22K-Kevin Barksdale[12]; DNS 22a-Dan AdkinsTop Six advance to A Feature

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 54-Evan Pardo; 2. 14B-Robert Byrom; 3. 29-Travis Rilat; 4. 14-Michael Lang; 5. 12w-Dale Wester; 6. 45-Martin Edwards; 7. 36-Robert Sellers; 8. 22K-Kevin Barksdale; 9. 12x-Jeff Shaddock

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 11c-Matt Covington; 2. 1a-Kevin Ramey; 3. 11-Justin Melton; 4. 27-Andy Shouse; 5. 74E-Claud Estes III; 6. 5-Joe Bob Lee; 7. 4x-Shawn Petersen; 8. 57-Kyle Chady; DNS 22a-Dan Adkins

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 22-Koby Barksdale; 2. 11s-Patrick Stasa; 3. 2-Logan Payne; 4. 32-Derek Weaver; 5. 29-Brandon Hahn; 6. 12-Shawn Mize; 7. 10-George White; 8. 13-Bud Johnson; 9. 00-Kacee Frazier

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 7s-Shane Sellers; 2. 03-Joe Wood Jr; 3. 1J-Danny Jennings; 4. 50z-Zach Chappell; 5. 7-Michelle Decker; 6. 76-John Ricketts; 7. 27x-Jesse Frazier; 8. 45x-J.P. Bailey

2012 American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Point Standings (top ten):

2012 Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region point standings (top ten): 1. Matt Covington 544; 2. Martin Edwards 530; 3. Justin Melton 470; 4. Claud Estes III 464; 5. Dale Wester 446; 6. Evan Pardo 437; 7. Michael Lang 430; 8. John Ricketts 394; 8. Andy Shouse 394; 10. Robert Byrom 392

Car & Fleet ASCS Sooner Region Rookie of the Year point standings: 1. Shane Sellers 376; 2. Jesse Frazier 306; 3. Joe Bob Lee 286; 4. Brandon Hahn 282; 5. Kyle Chady 261; 6. Kacee Frazier 219

Red River Rumble point standings (top ten): 1. Matt Covington 150; 2. Joe Wood Jr. 142; 3. Kevin Ramey 135; 4. Travis Rilat 130; 5. Michelle Decker 125; 6. Martin Edwards 122; 7. Michael Lang 119; 8. Andy Shouse 116; 9. Patrick Stasa 113; 10. Justin Melton 110