Close this search box.

Covington Captures Lone Star victory at Devil’s Bowl!

Cody Morris, Mesquite, Texas (4-21-2012) – Defending Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region champion Matt Covington took on Devil’s Bowl wickedly fast high banked 1/2 mile oval Saturday night.

The Glenpool, Oklahoma native led all 25 laps in wire to wire fashion en route to his 1st Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star triumph of the season.

While the winners’ purse went to Covington, it was Mesquite’s hometown warrior Martin Edwards that stole the show.

Starting the 25 lap main event in the 17th spot, Edwards charged valiantly through the field and was gaining ground fast on the leader before running out of time.

Covington crossed the finish line for the 25th time with breathing room to take the 25 lap Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region victory aboard the Wesmar powered OEM and T&L Foundry sponsored no. 11c XXX Chassis.

Edwards’ impressive advance through the field netted the Mesquite, Texas native runner up honors and a clear Hard Charger effort after passing an astounding 15 cars. It was Edwards’ 2nd runner up effort in as many 2012 Lone Star contests.

Godley, Texas’ Claude Estes advanced four spots to claim show position honors. El Paso, Texas native and accomplished 305ci sprint veteran John Carney climbed five spots to finish 4th with Michael Lang completing the top five running order.

The 25 lap Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star contest at Devil’s Bowl suffered only two stoppages, with an opening lap Gavin Punch tumble precluding a lap 10 stoppage for a spun Evan Pardo. Shawn Mize tumbled in heat four action, but was able to make a very brief appearance in the main event.

Heat races were apparently won by Koby Barksdale, Seth Bergman, and Robert Byrom, but Barksdale was disqualified after the Norman, Oklahoma racer failed to report to the scales following his heat race win. The disqualification awarded the heat race victory to Flower Mound, Texas’ Justin Melton.

Featured Photo: Michael Jackson, Thriller Photography

Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region
April 21st, 2012 / Event 2 of 14
Devil’s Bowl Speedway / Mesquite, Texas

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 11c-Matt Covington[1]; 2. 45-Martin Edwards[17]; 3. 74E-Claud Estes III[7]; 4. 224-John Carney[9]; 5. 14-Michael Lang[8]; 6. 2L-Logan Payne[10]; 7. 27-Andy Shouse[11]; 8. 12x-Dale Wester[6]; 9. 11-Justin Melton[4]; 10. 23-Seth Bergman[5]; 11. 10-George White[2]; 12. 54-Evan Pardo[12]; 13. 69-Larry Howery[3]; 14. 76-John Ricketts[15]; 15. 32-Derek Weaver[14]; DNF 22-Koby Barksdale[21]; DNF 3-Raven Culp[16]; DNF 22K-Kevin Barksdale[20]; DNF 14B-Robert Byrom[13]; DNF 81au-Gavin Punch[18]; DNF 12-Shawn Mize[19]
Lap Leaders: Covington 1-25

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 11-Justin Melton; 2. 69-Larry Howery; 3. 11c-Matt Covington; 4. 54-Evan Pardo; 5. 32-Derek Weaver; 6. 22-Koby Barksdale; DNS 22K-Kevin Barksdale
*22 disqualified – did not report to scales

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman; 2. 74E-Claud Estes III; 3. 224-John Carney; 4. 27-Andy Shouse; 5. 14-Michael Lang; 6. 45-Martin Edwards; 7. 81au-Gavin Punch

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 14B-Robert Byrom; 2. 12x-Dale Wester; 3. 10-George White; 4. 2L-Logan Payne; 5. 76-John Ricketts; 6. 3-Raven Culp; 7. 12-Shawn Mize

The 2012 Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star region fired back into action Saturday, May 5th at the action rich battleground Cowtown Speedway.

2012 Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region Point Standings: 1. Martin Edwards 284; 2. Matt Covington 272; 3. Claud Estes 245; 4. Justin Melton 229; 5. John Ricketts 227; 6. Dale Wester 224; 7. Evan Pardo 219; 8. Michael Lang 215; 9. Larry Howery 210; 10. Derek Weaver 202