Close this search box.

Chili Bowl Just One Week Away – Entry Count at 264

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (January 3, 2011) – With another epic edition of the Tulsa Shootout logged into the record books this past weekend, the rumbling sound of Midgets will fill the Tulsa Fairgrounds QuikTrip Center in another short week.

Next Monday’s practice session will set the stage for the Silver Anniversary of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals, which takes place atop the ¼-mile Tulsa Expo Raceway clay oval next Tuesday through Saturday, January 11-15.

The entry count for the world’s premier indoor racing extravaganza has climbed to 264, with competitors representing 29 different states as well as New Zealand and Australia.

Among the latest additions to the entry list of New Zealand’s Brad Mosen, who takes the wheel of three-time Chili Bowl champion car owner Andy Bondio’s No. 47 entry. Mosen, the only 2010 Chili Bowl rookie contender to make the cut for the championship feature event, is one of two Kiwi competitors along with team Loyet member Michael Pickens.

With the addition of Mosen, 23 of the 25 drivers that battled it out in last year’s 50-lap championship finale are set for this year’s edition. The only two missing from 2010 are Kasey Kahne and Darren Hagen.

Recovering from recent knee surgery, Kahne will be on hand to watch the progress of KKR competitors Jason Leffler and Brad Sweet. Hagen, who won last year’s Thursday night qualifying feature, is recovering from injuries suffered in a late season crash. Sprint car grad and NASCAR Nationwide Series Rookie of the Year Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., takes the wheel of the RFMS No. 3 that Hagen piloted last year.

Also added to the entry list today is California native Randy Hannagan, who will take the seat of the Wilke-Pak Motorsports No. 5 entry. Other Wilke-Pak reps include Dave Darland, whose Chili Bowl record run of ten consecutive championship feature starts in a row ended last year, and Turkey Night Sprint Car winner Kody Swanson. The Wilke-Pak team has one of the remaining 19 TBA’s.

Another familiar name, “Knepper”, has been added to the entry list as well. A fixture at the Chili Bowl since its inception, the Knepper name will be among the Chili Bowl field for the 25th consecutive year. After Steve took in his 20th Chili Bowl last year, Nick Knepper’s sixth Bowl effort comes in tandem with rookie teammate Dereck King.

The complete, current list of entries for the upcoming 25th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals is available at

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals Quick Facts:

What: 25th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals

Where: Tulsa Expo Raceway – ¼-mile clay oval inside the QuikTrip Center at the Tulsa State Fairgrounds

January 11-15, 2011
Tuesday – Warren CAT Qualifying Night plus Vacuworx Int’l Chili Bowl Race of Champions
Wednesday – River Spirit Casino Qualifying Night
Thursday – Qualifying Night
Friday – Vacuworx International Qualifying Night
Saturday – Lucas Oil Championship Feature Events

Past Winners: Kevin Swindell (2010), Sammy Swindell (2009, 1998, 1996, 1992 and 1989), Damion Gardner (2008), Tony Stewart (2007 and 2002), Tim McCreadie (2006), Tracy Hines (2005), Cory Kruseman (2004 and 2000), Dan Boorse (2003 and 1999), Jay Drake (2001), Billy Boat (1997), Donnie Beechler (1995), Andy Hillenburg (1994), Dave Blaney (1993), Lealand McSpadden (1991), Jon Heydenreich (1990), Scott Hatton (1988), Rich Vogler (1987).

Trade Show: Always a popular attraction at the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is the Trade Show, which is open to the public each day (Tuesday through Saturday) free of charge. All variety of racing products, apparel and more is available with well over 100 different vendors. The Trade Show covers approximately 20,000 square feet.

Tickets: A limited number of reserved seats for Tuesday night’s Warren CAT Qualifying Event and the Third Annual Vacuworx International Chili Bowl Race of Champions are available for $43 per person and may be obtained by calling 918-838-3777 or at the gate if still available. Pit passes for all five nights are available at the gate as well.

Chili Bowl on TV: Portions of the 25th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals will be broadcast on SPEED TV on a tape-delayed basis.

Chili Bowl on the Net: All official news pertaining to the 25th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals, including official entry lists, race results and recaps, is available first at Also, all five nights of the Chili Bowl Nationals will be broadcast live (audio) on

Additional information regarding the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is available at or by calling 918-838-3777.