Close this search box.

Chili Bowl Count Keeps Climbing – Past Winner McCreadie Among Latest Entries!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (December 13, 2010) – With the December 15 pre-entry deadline for the 25th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals just two days away, the entry count for the prestigious Midget racing event that takes place each January at the QuikTrip Center’s Tulsa Expo Raceway just keeps climbing away at a furious pace.

Another healthy batch of entries over the weekend brings the current count to 183, with 2006 Chili Bowl champion Tim McCreadie among the latest round of entries that also includes four-time and reigning USAC Sprint Car champion Levi Jones, perennial Chili Bowl contender Shane Cottle and Wayne Johnson among others.

With McCreadie now officially entered for the event set for January 11-15, 2011, the number of past event champions is at eight with other past winners including defending Chili Bowl champ Kevin Swindell, five-time winner Sammy Swindell, Damion Gardner, Tracy Hines, Cory Kruseman, Jay Drake and Johnny Heydenreich.

McCreadie, the Late Model and DIRT Modified ace from Watertown, NY, tries for a second Golden Driller with a new combination in 2011, driving a Gaerte-powered Spike-chassis for Brian Daugherty with T-Mac’s familiar No. 39 on the tailtank.

McCreadie, officially listed as No. 39m, will make for at least three top contenders carrying the No. 39 along with defending Chili Bowl champion Kevin Swindell (39) and National Midget Driver of the Year and National Driver’s Champion Bryan Clauson (39c).

Fresh off his fourth USAC Sprint Car championship, Illinois native Levi Jones takes the wheel of the Cruz Pedregon Racing No. 75j entry this time around, while Indiana’s Shane Cottle is back aboard the Daryl Saucier No. 1st that he has put in the 50-lap Chili Bowl championship feature event over each of the past three years.

On the mend from leg injuries sustained in a July Sprint Car crash, Wayne Johnson joins forces with Jack Yeley this year.

Missouri’s Hunter Schuerenberg has been added to the Kenny Brown Racing fleet that also includes Josh Wise, Late Model ace Jimmy Owens, Danny Stratton and Austin Brown.

California’s Shane Golobic, who made his first Chili Bowl main event last year, replaces Glenn Carson in the Bock No. 26, while fellow 2010 main event starter Daniel Adler is among the latest entries as well.

Initially a two-day event that attracted approximately 50 cars in 1987, the entry count topped the 100 mark in 1994 and then surged past 200 for the first time in 2003. Last year, 256 competitors took part in the Chili Bowl after a record number of 281 in 2009.

With Kevin Swindell becoming the 17th different winner in Chili Bowl history in January 2010, there have been just four drivers claim multiple Golden Drillers since Rich Vogler won the inaugural event in 1987. Tony Stewart, Cory Kruseman and Dan Boorse have each topped the Chili Bowl on two occasions, while Sammy Swindell added an unprecedented fifth win in 2009 to previous victories in 1989, 1992, 1996 and 1998.

After a practice session on Monday, January 10, the 25th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals kicks off one night later with the first of four qualifying nights. Tuesday’s Warren CAT Qualifier will also include the Third Annual Vacuworx International Chili Bowl Race of Champions, featuring past event winners and other top Chili Bowl contenders squaring off in a special feature race.

Action continues with Wednesday’s River Spirit Casino Qualifier, Thursday’s Qualifier and then Friday’s Vacuworx International Qualifier.

The top three finishers from each of the Qualifying Night features will automatically lock into the Saturday night, January 15, Lucas Oil Chili Bowl championship feature, with the balance of Saturday’s Lucas Oil championship feature events lined up according to Qualifying Night finishes.

A limited number of reserved seats remain for Tuesday night’s Warren CAT Qualifying event and Vacuworx International Chili Bowl Race of Champions for just $43 apiece. Tickets may be obtained by calling the ticket office at 918-838-3777.

Additional information regarding the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is available at

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals Pre-Entry Stats:

Most Chili Bowls Competed In (Among Pre-Entered Drivers): Sammy Swindell 20, Johnny Heydenreich 19, Tracy Hines 14, J.J. Yeley 14, Jerry Coons, Jr. 13, Jay Drake 13, Cory Kruseman 13, Tony Elliott 13, P.J. Jones 13, Johnny Murdock 13, A.J. Fike 12, Mike Hess 12, Tim Siner 12, Nick O’Neal 12, Matt Westfall 12, Shane Cottle 11, Floyd Alvis 9, Shane Hollingsworth 9, Josh Ford 9, Thomas Meseraull 9, Davey Ray 9, Brandon Waelti 9, Paul White 9, Steve Buckwalter 8, Don Droud, Jr. 8, Ryan Durst 8, Bobby East 8, Damion Gardner 8, Garrett Hansen 8, Brad Kuhn 8, Matt Mitchell 8, Daryn Pittman 8, Gary Taylor 8, Josh Wise 8.

Chili Bowl Championship Feature Starts (Among Pre-Entered Drivers): Sammy Swindell 17, Jerry Coons, Jr. 11, Tracy Hines 11, Cory Kruseman 9, Shane Cottle 7, Jay Drake 7, P.J. Jones 6, J.J. Yeley 6, Brad Kuhn 5, Jimmy Sills 5, Matt Westfall 5, Steve Buckwalter 4, Bobby East 4, Tony Elliott 4, Davey Ray 4, Josh Ford 3, Damion Gardner 3, Mike Hess 3, Johnny Heydenreich 3, Tim McCreadie 3, Casey Shuman 3, Cole Whitt 3, Chris Windom 3, Don Droud, Jr. 2, Garrett Hansen 2, Wayne Johnson 2, Levi Jones 2, Brad Loyet 2, Thomas Meseraull 2, Michael Pickens 2, Daryn Pittman 2, Danny Stratton 2, Kevin Swindell 2, Josh Wise 2, Daniel Adler 1, Brady Bacon 1, Bryan Clauson 1, Zach Daum 1, Ryan Durst 1, A.J. Fike 1, Shane Golobic 1, David Gough 1, Jonathan Hendrick 1, Shane Hollingsworth 1, Tony Roney 1, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 1, Gary Taylor 1, Brandon Waelti 1, Paul White1.

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals Quick Facts:

What: 25th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals

Where: Tulsa Expo Raceway – ¼-mile clay oval inside the QuikTrip Center at the Tulsa State Fairgrounds

January 11-15, 2011
Tuesday – Warren CAT Qualifying Night plus Vacuworx Int’l Chili Bowl Race of Champions
Wednesday – River Spirit Casino Qualifying Night
Thursday – Qualifying Night
Friday – Vacuworx International Qualifying Night
Saturday – Lucas Oil Championship Feature Events

Past Winners: Kevin Swindell (2010), Sammy Swindell (2009, 1998, 1996, 1992 and 1989), Damion Gardner (2008), Tony Stewart (2007 and 2002), Tim McCreadie (2006), Tracy Hines (2005), Cory Kruseman (2004 and 2000), Dan Boorse (2003 and 1999), Jay Drake (2001), Billy Boat (1997), Donnie Beechler (1995), Andy Hillenburg (1994), Dave Blaney (1993), Lealand McSpadden (1991), Jon Heydenreich (1990), Scott Hatton (1988), Rich Vogler (1987).

Trade Show: Always a popular attraction at the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is the Trade Show, which is open to the public each day (Tuesday through Saturday) free of charge. All variety of racing products, apparel and more is available with well over 100 different vendors. The Trade Show covers approximately 20,000 square feet.

Tickets: A limited number of reserved seats for Tuesday night’s Warren CAT Qualifying Event and the Second Annual Vacuworx International Chili Bowl Race of Champions are available for $43 per person and may be obtained by calling 918-838-3777 or at the gate if still available. Pit passes for all five nights are available at the gate as well.

Chili Bowl on TV: Portions of the 25th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals will be broadcast on SPEED TV on a tape-delayed basis.

Chili Bowl on the Net: All official news pertaining to the 25th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals, including official entry lists, race results and recaps, is available first at Also, all five nights of the Chili Bowl Nationals will be broadcast live (audio) on

Additional information regarding the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is available at or by calling 918-838-3777.