Close this search box.

Charles Charges to Third ASCS Canyon Triumph in a Row!

Lonnie Wheatley, TUCSON, Ariz. (May 15, 2010) – “Chargin’” Charles Davis, Jr., reeled off his third American Sprint Car Series Canyon Region feature win in a row by racing to victory lane in Saturday night’s 25-lap main event atop the 3/8-mile USA Raceway clay oval.

The defending series champ worked forward from the seventh starting position to take the win aboard the Roush Yates Ford-powered Massey Motorsports No. 50 DRC for his 17th career series triumph.

Moving into the lead in the final rounds, Davis, Jr., took the checkered flag in front of Mike Martin, who rallied from the 17th starting position for runner-up honors after winning the “B” Main.

Seventeen-year-old Dalten Gabbard posted his top career ASCS Canyon Region finish by claiming the show position, with New York’s Coleman Gulick charging from 16th to fourth.

Pole starter Brandon Lane rounded out the top five, with Stevie Sussex, 18th-starter Thomas Ogle, Nathan High, 20th-starter Ronnie Clark and Bruce St. James completing the top ten.

Seainn Hendricsen, R.J. Johnson, Davis, Jr., and Nick Aiuto topped heat race action for Saturday night’s 28-car field, with Martin winning the “B” Main. Johnson led the way in the main event from the front row outside starting position before forced pitside with engine woes.

Rick Ziehl flipped in heat race action and scratched for the night, with Brian Hosford getting upside down in “A” Main action.

The ASCS Canyon Region fires back to action next Saturday night with the first ASCS appearance in California taking place at Perris Auto Speedway.

ASCS Canyon Region Results from USA Raceway:

First Heat (10 Laps): 1. 11-Seainn Hendricsen, 2. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 3. 62-Stevie Sussex, 4. 93-Justin Quinn, 5. 61-Jeff Slinkard, 6. 90-Lance Norick, 7. 22-Mike Rux, Jr.

Second Heat (10 Laps): 1. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 2. 9-Brandon Lane, 3. 0-Nathan High, 4. 7k-Bruce St. James, 5. 16-Mike Martin, 6. 6-Ronnie Clark, 7. 8z-Rick Ziehl.

Third Heat (10 Laps): 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 32b-Brian Hosford, 3. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 4. 6c-Rex Calderwood, 5. 8az-Jordan Stetson, 6. 27h-Jeremy Huebner, 7. 61x-Chuck Buckman.

Fourth Heat (10 Laps): 1. 27n-Nick Aiuto, 2. 12-Josh Pelkey, 3. 3-Jeremy Sherman, 4. 14-Coleman Gulick, 5. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 6. 75-Rickey Hood, 7. 5x-Jody Wirth.

“B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 16-Mike Martin, 2. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 3. 6c-Rex Calderwood, 4. 6-Ronnie Clark, 5. 75-Rickey Hood, 6. 27h-Jeremy Huebner, 7. 90-Lance Norick, 8. 5x-Jody Wirth, 9. 8az-Jordan Stetson. DNS: 8z-Rick Ziehl, 61x-Chuck Buckman, 22-Mike Rux, Jr.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 16-Mike Martin, 3. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 4. 14-Coleman Gulick, 5. 9-Brandon Lane, 6. 62-Stevie Sussex, 7. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 8. 0-Nathan High, 9. 6-Ronnie Clark, 10. 7k-Bruce St. James, 11. 12-Josh Pelkey, 12. 27n-Nick Aiuto, 13. 93-Justin Quinn, 14. 3-Jeremy Sherman, 15. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 16. 6c-Rex Calderwood, 17. 61-Jeff Slinkard, 18. 11-Seainn Hendricsen, 19. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 20. 32b-Brian Hosford.

ASCS Canyon Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Charles Davis, Jr. 572, 2. Josh Pelkey 510, 3. Mike Martin 499, 4. Jeremy Sherman 492, 5. Andrew Reinbold 475, 6. R.J. Johnson 472, 7. Thomas Ogle 459, 8. Stevie Sussex 436, 9. Ronnie Clark 424, 10. Seainn Hendricsen 417.