Close this search box.

Carney Takes West Texas Cash

Bryan Hulbert – El Paso, Texas (September 14, 2012) For the fifth time in 2012 John Carney II topped the field with the ASCS 305 division, taking the $1,200 payday at the El Paso Speedway Park in El Paso, Texas.

Rolling from outside the front row in the night’s 25 lap feature event, Carney would follow pole sitter Kyle Sager for the first ten rounds before the No. 9k went for a spectacular ride trying to put the No.3d of Don Reynolds a lap down. Sager would emerge unscathed and was scored twenty-second.

Assuming the point, Carney would be chased by long time series rival Lorne Wofford. Rolling into the runner up spot from tenth, the M.T.S. No. 18 would take the top spot on lap nineteen but Carney would roll back into the race lead before the lap could be competed.

Slowing for a caution with four laps to run, Carney would pull to nearly a half straight-a-way advantage before the checkered flag waved. Lorne Wofford crossed the line second with Kyle McCutcheon taking the final step on the podium. Derek Drown and Dylan Harris made up the top five.

After suffering mechanical problems in his heat, Royal Jones charged through the field to take sixth with Cesar Fuentes, Colt Treharn, Dylan Harris, and Anton Salopek rounding out the top ten.

ASCS 305 Division
El Paso Speedway Park – El Paso, Texas
September 14, 2012

Car Count: 23

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 1X-Rickey Hood; 2. 77-Colt Treharn; 3. 12M-Kyle McCutcheon; 4. 27-Cesar Fuentes; 5. 3D-Don Reynolds; 6. 99-Chuck Jackson; 7. 52NM-David Burns; DNF 43-Curt Barnett

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 224-John Carney II; 2. 98-Jerry Gonzalez; 3. 1M-Dylan Harris; 4. 74B-Derek Drown; 5. 18-Lorne Wofford; 6. 186-J.R. Patton; 7. 52-Aaron Quijano; DNF 131-Royal Jones

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 9K-Kyle Sager; 2. 9-Robert Herrera; 3. 21TX-Brandon Schure; 4. 6U-Anton Salopek; 5. 148-Don Grable; 6. 05-Bill Briley III; DNF 36-Joe Alvarado

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 224-John Carney II; 2. 18-Lorne Wofford; 3. 12M-Kyle McCutcheon; 4. 74B-Derek Drown; 5. 1X-Rickey Hood; 6. 131-Royal Jones; 7. 27-Cesar Fuentes; 8. 77-Colt Treharn; 9. 1M-Dylan Harris; 10. 6U-Anton Salopek; 11. 43-Curt Barnett; 12. 98-Jerry Gonzalez; 13. 186-J.R. Patton; 14. 05-Bill Briley III; 15. 148-Don Grable; 16. 52NM-David Burns; 17. 9-Robert Herrera; 18. 99-Chuck Jackson; DNF 21TX-Brandon Schure; DNF 52-Aaron Quijano; DNF 3D-Don Reynolds; DNF 9K-Kyle Sager; DNF 36-Joe Alvarado

Photo Credit: Jim Rosas