Close this search box.

Carney Conquers Aztec for First ASCS Rocky Mountai

[b Carney Conquers Aztec for First ASCS Rocky Mountain Win]

[i Lonnie Wheatley, AZTEC, N.M. (September 18, 2009)]

El Paso’s John Carney II logged his first career American Sprint Car Series feature win by breaking into victory lane in the opening night of the 30th Annual Floyd Reynolds Memorial at Aztec Speedway.

Carney took advantage of Jesse Baker’s slip over the cushion on the eleventh round and led the rest of the way to secure the victory in Friday night’s ASCS Rocky Mountain Region 30-lapper atop the high-banked, 3/8-mile Aztec clay oval.

Carney took the checkered flag in front of Montana’s Brent Kronfuss, with Colorado’s Joe McCarthy snaring the show position. Past series champion Randi Miller of Rapid City, SD, charged from 20th to fourth, with early pacesetter Baker rounding out the top five.

Rickey Hood crossed the stripe in sixth, with Colt Treharn racing from 17th to seventh. Jake Ossenfort put the clamps on the 2009 ASCS Rocky Mountain Region championship with an eighth-place finish, with Rick Ziehl and Danielle Ossenfort completing the top ten.

Carney, Jason Martin, Jake Ossenfort and Schaeffer topped heat race action for the 38-car field, with Treharn and Kaylene Verville winning the twin “B” Mains.

ASCS Rocky Mountain Region Results from Aztec Speedway:

Heat Race Winners (10 Laps): John Carney II, Jason Martin, Jake Ossenfort, Bob Schaeffer.

First “B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 77T-Colt Treharn, 2. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 3. 21p-Paul Whitehead, 4. 2-Steve Nix, 5. 8x-J.C. Powell, 6. 62-Bill Mitchell, 7. 24-Jordan Mattson, 8. F2-L.C. Kesterson, 9. 19x-Chuck Jackson, 10. 17-Steve Spiak, 11. 59-Butch Hardman.

Second “B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 01-Kaylene Verville, 2. 4m-Randi Miller, 3. 35-Derrik Ortega, 4. 12-Josh Grady, 5. 27-Patrick Bourke, 6. 78-Jody Williams, 7. 16-Brian Hardman, 8. 57-Kolter Kosten, 9. 61-Cory Stultz, 10. 05-Justin Wolf Medlock, 11. 77-Mark Sweet.

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 3s-John Carney II, 2. 93-Brent Kronfuss, 3. 19-Joe McCarthy, 4. 4m-Randi Miller, 5. 22-Jesse Baker, 6. 45x-Rickey Hood, 7. 77T-Colt Treharn, 8. 99-Jake Ossenfort, 9. 52-Roger Oakes, 10. 10-Danielle Ossenfort, 11. 20-Kyle Sager, 12. 71-Bob Schaeffer, 13. 40x-Scott Box, 14. 8-Brett Ream, 15. 15-Bud Goodwin, 16. 7-Rick Johnson, 17. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 18. 01-Kaylene Verville, 19. 8m-Kyle McCutcheon, 20. 36-Jason Martin.

ASCS Rocky Mountain Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Jake Ossenfort 1,688, 2. Jeremy McCune 1,518, 3. Kolter Kosten 1,396, 4. Mark Sweet 1,298, 5. Danielle Ossenfort 1,230, 6. Tucker McCune 1,159, 7. Brent Kronfuss 1,106, 8. Randy Pierce 1,096, 9. Bob Schaeffer 1,016, 10. Joe McCarthy 688.