Close this search box.

Carney Cashes in at the Devil’s Bowl

Bryan Hulbert – Mesquite, Texas (August 25, 2012) After a disappointing performance at the Heart O’ Texas Speedway Friday night, John Carney II was set for redemption Saturday in the combined regional event between the Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South and Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Regions at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Starting off the night’s feature with a red for the No. 45 of Martin Edwards, the night’s 25 lap A-Main rolled green until lap eleven when a slide job gone bad saw Matt Covington making contact with Shawn Petersen. The No. 11c would retire for the evening with Petersen’s No. 4x returning.

Having taken the lead on lap seven, John Carney II would nearly see his night take a wrong turn in slower traffic after making contact with J.P. Baily on lap seventeen. Baily would spin causing the caution to fly.

The caution lights would again blink on a lap later as early race leader Brandon Berryman suffered a broken front end exiting turn two.

Back underway Carney would sail to his first Devil’s Bowl triumph with Andy Shouse coming from ninth to take the runner up spot. Danny Jennings would also come from the fifth row to finish third with Ray Allen Kulhanek and Claud Estes making up the top five.

Michael McNeal was sixth with Kyle McCutcheon seventh after running out of fuel coming to the checkered flag. Brandon Hahn, Wes Miller, and Jake Martens, who transferred out of the second B-Feature, rounded out the top ten.

Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region
The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region
Devil’s Bowl Speedway – Mesquite, Texas
August 25, 2012

Car Count: 38

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 224-John Carney II; 2. 27-Andy Shouse; 3. 69-Larry Howery; 4. 45X-J.P. Bailey; 5. 45-Martin Edwards; 6. 14B-Robert Byrom; 7. 15T-Travis Elliott; 8. 6-Ryan Beechler

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 11P-Preston Peebles II; 2. 4X-Shawn Petersen; 3. 31-Brandon Berryman; 4. 1J-Danny Jennings; 5. 12M-Kyle McCutcheon; 6. 12W-Dale Wester; 7. 66-J.J. Simmons; DNF 48-Jake Martens

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 11C-Matt Covington; 2. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 3. 10-George White; 4. 2-Wes Miller; 5. 24-Brandie Jass; 6. 93-Chris Sweeney; DNF 17W-Josh Baughman; DNF 02-Harry Yerrington

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 28-Tommy Bryant; 2. 35-Greg Rilat; 3. 19-Klint Angelette; 4. 25M-Michael McNeil; 5. 15-Andrew VanBlarcum; 6. 51-Beau Smith; 7. 5C-Chris Coker

Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 29-Brandon Hahn; 2. 74E-Claud Estes III; 3. 22-Koby Barksdale; 4. 3-Raven Culp; 5. 12-Shawn Mize; 6. 11-Justin Melton; 7. 21W-Wes Wofford

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 45-Martin Edwards; 2. 12M-Kyle McCutcheon; 3. 69-Larry Howery; 4. 11-Justin Melton; 5. 17W-Josh Baughman; 6. 12-Shawn Mize; 7. 14B-Robert Byrom; 8. 51-Beau Smith; DNS 5C-Chris Coker; DNS 02-Harry Yerrington

B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 12W-Dale Wester; 2. 48-Jake Martens; 3. 21W-Wes Wofford; 4. 6-Ryan Beechler; 5. 24-Brandie Jass; 6. 15-Andrew VanBlarcum; DNF 93-Chris Sweeney; DNF 66-J.J. Simmons; DNF 15T-Travis Elliott; DNS 3-Raven Culp

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 224-John Carney II; 2. 27-Andy Shouse; 3. 1J-Danny Jennings; 4. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 5. 74E-Claud Estes III; 6. 25M-Michael McNeil; 7. 12M-Kyle McCutcheon; 8. 29-Brandon Hahn; 9. 2-Wes Miller; 10. 48-Jake Martens; 11. 10-George White; 12. 19-Klint Angelette; 13. 69-Larry Howery; 14. 35-Greg Rilat; DNF 28-Tommy Bryant; DNF 45X-J.P. Bailey; DNF 31-Brandon Berryman; DNF 12W-Dale Wester; DNF 11C-Matt Covington; DNF 4X-Shawn Petersen; DNF 22-Koby Barksdale; DNF 45-Martin Edwards; DNF 21W-Wes Wofford; DNS 11P-Preston Peebles II