Close this search box.

Carney Beats the Heat for $3,500 at Lubbock

Lonnie Wheatley – LUBBOCK, Texas (March 24, 2012) – John Carney II enjoyed his second consecutive lucrative Saturday night by taking the $3,500 winner’s share in Lady Luck Speedway’s 5th Annual Beat the Heat 25-lap ASCS 305-ci Sprint Car main event.

Carney held off Friday night winner Derek Drown throughout to take the winner’s cut, with New Mexico’s Kyle McCutcheon climbing from 11th claim the show position.

Josh Baughman was fourth, with Andy Shouse climbing ten positions to round out the top five.

The red flag flew just one lap into the feature event when Chris Douglas slid to wide exiting turn four and flipped down the frontstretch after tagging the wall. Lorne Wofford did the same one lap later to bring out another red flag.

Justin Melton ran among the top five until coming to a stop in turn two with race-ending problems after 14 laps, with Wes Wofford pressuring the lead duo until melting down a powerplant as the white flag flew.

While Drown challenged Carney several times along the way, Carney drove away on the final restart to a 1.279-second advantage at the checkered flag.

Jeff Radcliffe, Carney and Drown won Saturday night’s heat races.

Lady Luck Speedway Beat the Heat Saturday ASCS 305-ci Sprint Car Results:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 121-Jeff Radcliffe, 2. 77-Colt Treharn, 3. 21-Wes Wofford, 4. 56-Chris Douglas, 5. 05-Billy Briley, 6. 47-Tadd Baughman, 7. 25-Zach Blurton. DNS: 13-Ben Brewer.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 224-John Carney II, 2. 118-Lorne Wofford, 3. 58-Gary Floyd, 4. 11-Justin Melton, 5. 0c-Leighton Crouch, 6. 16-Cory Riley, 7. 50-Brent Rose.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 74b-Derek Drown, 2. 2x-Brandon Williams, 3. 17-Josh Baughman, 4. 5-Kyle McCutcheon, 5. 13x-Andy Shouse, 6. 24-Scott Pace, 7. 777-Brandon Black.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 224-John Carney II, 2. 74b-Derek Drown, 3. 5-Kyle McCutcheon, 4. 17-Josh Baughman, 5. 13x-Andy Shouse, 6. 77-Colt Treharn, 7. 58-Gary Floyd, 8. 121-Jeff Radcliffe, 9. 2x-Brandon Williams, 10. 25-Zach Blurton, 11. 47-Todd Baughman, 12. 21-Wes Wofford, 13. 11-Justin Melton, 14. 777-Brandon Black, 15. 24-Scott Pace, 16. 13-Ben Brewer, 17. 118-Lorne Wofford, 18. 56-Chris Douglas, 19. 0c-Leighton Crouch, 20. 05-Billy Briley, 21. 16-Cory Riley (DNS), 22. 50-Brent Rose (DNS).