Close this search box.

Canyon Speedway Park Set for Winged & Non-Winged ASCS Action!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (October 18, 2010) – Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, AZ, is set for a big Hall of Fame Classic weekend of Sprint Car racing action with winged and then non-winged American Sprint Car Series competition on consecutive nights.

On Friday night, the winged ranks of the ASCS Southwest Region tackle the semi-banked, 3/8-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval for the opening night of the Hall of Fame Classic. Then, on Saturday night, the wings will be shed as the wingless ASCS Canyon Region takes to the CSP for the fifth time of the year.

It marks the final ASCS Southwest and Canyon events of the year at Canyon Speedway Park.

Gunning for a third consecutive series title, Rick Ziehl of Las Cruces, NM, leads the winged ASCS Southwest forces into Friday’s action with other top contenders including Calvin Landis, John Gaston, Joshua Hodges and Joshua Williams.

Saturday night’s wingless ASCS Canyon ranks will be led by Charles Davis, Jr., who is seeking a second straight championship, with other top shoe including R.J. Johnson, Mike Martin, Josh Pelkey and Jeremy Sherman.

The ASCS Southwest Region was at Canyon Speedway Park in May, with Albuquerque’s Johnny Herrera getting the second of his four series wins for the year. Herrera has topped the most recent pair of ASCS Southwest events at Show Low’s Thunder Raceway and Tucson’s USA Raceway.

The ASCS Canyon Region has completed four events at Canyon Speedway Park thus far in 2010, with Charles Davis, Jr., and R.J. Johnson neck-and-neck at two wins apiece.

Both nights of racing action are set to get under way at 7:30 p.m.

Peoria’s Canyon Speedway Park is located 25 miles north of Phoenix on I-17 to Exit 223, then 6.3 miles west. For more information, contact the track at 602-258-7223.

The ASCS Southwest Region is currently slated for 17 overall nights of competition in 2010, including 13 nights in Arizona and a pair of New Mexico weekend doubles.

The ASCS Canyon Region is currently slated for 18 overall nights of competition in 2010, including 13 nights in Arizona, a two-night Fourth of July weekend in New Mexico and pair of trips to California’s Perris Auto Speedway.

Current ASCS Southwest Points (Top Ten): 1. Rick Ziehl (Las Cruces, NM) 1,465, 2. Calvin Landis (Knoxville, IA) 1,373, 3. John Gaston (Peoria, AZ) 1,323, 4. Joshua Hodges (Tijeras, NM) 1,286, 5. Joshua Williams (Glendale, AZ) 1,223, 6. Steve Stone (Mesa, AZ) 1,200, 7. Koty McGullam (Marana, AZ) 1,127, 8. J.T. Imperial (Mesa, AZ) 949, 9. Lance Norick (Scottsdale, AZ) 854, 10. Mike Rux, Jr. (Mesa, AZ) 802.

Current ASCS Canyon Points (Top Ten): 1. Charles Davis, Jr. (Buckeye, AZ) 1,960, 2. R.J. Johnson (Phoenix, AZ) 1,754, 3. Mike Martin (Yuma, AZ) 1,735, 4. Josh Pelkey (Peoria, AZ) 1,698, 5. Jeremy Sherman (Surprise, AZ) 1,636, 6. Andrew Reinbold (Gilbert, AZ) 1,622, 7. Ronnie Clark (Tucson, AZ) 1,545, 8. Dalten Gabbard (Peoria, AZ) 1,430, 9. Brian Hosford (Gilbert, AZ) 1,328, 10. Stevie Sussex (Laveen, AZ) 1,317.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at