Close this search box.

California Gold Awaits Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV

Bryan Hulbert – Tulsa, Oklahoma (July 22, 2012) The 2012 chase for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV points battle has been an interesting one so far. Following an onslaught of wins in Oregon and Washington, the series point lead is once again in the hands of Wayne Johnson.

Entering the Northwest trailing by 92, a pair of wins at Willamette Speedway in Lebanon, Oregon followed by a runner up finish and a win at Grays Harbor Raceway in Elma, Washington a week later has given Johnson a 54 point lead heading into California.

Swapping the points lead now for the seventh time with the City Vending No. 77x, Jason Johnson will be playing catch up on the left coast. Suffering a twenty-fourth place finish in the Grays Harbor Finale due to a broken rear axle that sent the MVT No. 41 for a ride on the opening lap, it is nothing new for either the No. 41 or No. 77x to be able make up 100 points or more.

Brady Bacon continues to ride third in tour standings with Johnny Herrera fourth. Brad Loyet currently rounds out the top five in national standings.

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series will see Placerville Speedway on Wednesday July 25th before heading to Kings Speedway in Hanford on Saturday July 28th and finally Santa Maria Speedway on Sunday July 29th.

Placerville Speedway has hosted the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV once with a weekend double header in 2011 where Wayne Johnson took both nights. Kings Speedway was also new to the list of tracks in 2011 with Kyle Larson taking the win in the series February debut behind the wheel of the JJR No. 41.

Adding track No. 126 to the list, Santa Maria Speedway is only the fourth track in California to host the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour and will be the last stop on the west coast before teams make the thirty plus hour trek to Knoxville.

The Series:
Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV

When and Where:

Wed. July 25, 2012 – Placerville Speedway – Placerville, California – Gates Open @ 5pm/Racing @ 7pm

Sat. July 28, 2012 – Kings Speedway – Hanford, California – Gates Open @ 5pm/Racing @ 6:30pm

Sun. July 29, 2012 – Santa Maria Speedway – Santa Maria, California – Gates Open @ 4pm/Racing @ 6pm

Track Information: Placerville Speedway

Directions (according to NSD) – US 50 to Forni Road, then north to Fair Lane (ESR) (located behind the El Dorado County Fairgrounds)

Address: 100 Placerville Dr. Placerville, CA 94952

Phone: 916-783-3478 or 530-626-3680


Track Information: Kings Speedway

Directions (according to NSD) – Westbound: SR 198 to 10th Avenue exit in Hanford / Eastbound: SR 198 to Douty Avenue, then 0.5 miles east on 3rd street, then 0.2 miles south on 10th Avenue (ESR)(Fairgrounds)

Address: 801 South 10th Ave. Hanford, CA 93230

Phone #: 559-584-7223


Track Information: Santa Maria Speedway

Directions (according to NSD) – US 101 to SR166-E, the west to Frontage Road, then north

Address: 1900 Hutton Road. Nipomo, CA 93444

Phone #: 805-714-8538 or 805-922-2232


Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Wayne Johnson 4,298; 2. Jason Johnson 4,244; 3. Brady Bacon 4,085; 4. Johnny Herrera 3,921; 5. Brad Loyet 3,834; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 3,804; 7. Seth Bergman 3,511; 8. Dustin Morgan 3,409; 9. Logan Forler 3,375; 10. Gary Wright 3,307

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-8, Wayne Johnson-7, Brady Bacon-4, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1, Jordan Boston-1, Brock Lemley-1, Shane Stewart-1

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV – A Look Ahead

August 2-4 – Knoxville Raceway – Knoxville, IA (360 Nationals)

August 14 – Humboldt Speedway – Humboldt, KS

August 16 – Salina Speedway – Salina, Kansas

August 17 – Creek County Speedway – Sapulpa, OK

August 18 – Lawton Speedway – Lawton, OK

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV on the web:
All Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series national events are broadcast live on for anyone who is unable to attend the races live.

Official results, points, and race notes are posted at The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV can also be found on Facebook and Twitter.

Lucas Oil ASCS on TV: A full schedule of tape-delayed races for the 2012 season can found at

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is scheduled to compete 66 times throughout the United States with drivers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s fund.

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiators, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Malcolm White