Close this search box.

Bryan Howland Superb for ASCS Patriot Win at State

[b Bryan Howland Superb for ASCS Patriot Win at Stateline]

[i Zimbardi PJ Motorsports King of the Southern Tier]

[i Rich Vleck, BUSTI, NY (August 29, 2009)]

Bryan Howland and his team weren’t sure on their setup heading in to the feature event at Stateline, but after 25-laps it was clear that their final decision was the correct one.

Howland, the defending Lucas Oil ASCS Patriot Champion and current series point leader from Auburn, NY, scored his fourth win of the season in convincing fashion, leading all but the opening lap en route to his second career win at the 1/3-mile oval south of Jamestown.

“The guys absolutely nailed the setup tonight,” declared Howland in Victory Lane. “The track was tricky tonight and I wasn’t sure we would be this good.

Howland was able to make the redraw and land on the pole for the feature by virtue of his advancement from 7th to 4th in his heat race. Zimbardi seemed to be up to the challenge though as he raced down to the inside of the Filtrec Corporation No. 51 at the completion of the first lap. The next time around, Howland was back in front and would keep it that way to the finish.

“I saw Jared down there that one time and I just tried to keep the car on the bottom,” noted the 22-year-old two-time champion who also added that the top of turn four was effective for him. “I could get a really nice launch off that corner but it was really close to the wall and I had to be careful.”

With the win, Howland became the first driver to win a second Lucas Oil ASCS Patriot event at Stateline Speedway. He also added our points to his advantage over Zimbardi in the championship chase to 34.

Even though Zimbardi lost points in the overall point battle, his second-place showing was enough to capture the Inagural PJ Motorsports King of the Southern Tier Crown. The Little Valley, NY driver was certainly a fitting King being a Southern Tier resident himself.

“I’m really glad we were able to win this deal,” said Zimbardi in Victory Lane while wearing the second crown to be handed out this season. “Bryan was perfect tonight and was just couldn’t do anything with him.”

On a lap 13 caution, which would end up being the final yellow flag of the night, Zimbardi was able to close in on Howland, but the driver of the No. 35 would find himself focusing more on hanging on to second as Chuck Hebing was applying significant pressure.

Hebing, a Stateline winner in 2007, had charged up for fifth and was clearly the quickest car on the track leading in to that caution flag. As “Cobra” was going for second on lap 14 though, heavy smoke became visible out of the Wilkins RV No. 45. Hebing kept battling with Zimbardi, but after a few laps of dealing with the smoke, the two-time Patriot Champion became more focused on what would end up being oil smoke due to an issue in the steering box. He would have to settle for third.

Bobby Breen and Don Adamczyk engaged in a spirited for fourth through the event with Breen coming out on top.

Brad Knab won his first ever Four Laps of Fame Dash and recorded his best Patriot finish of the season, coming home in sixth.

Bubba Broderick was fast all night but would have to restart from the back on lap four after he and Scott Kreutter came together battling for sixth. Broderick would race back up to finish seventh.

Kyle Drum continued to get reaclimated to a sprint car with a solid eighth place showing. Blake Breen and National Parts Peddler Heat Winner Gary Kriess would round out the top-10.

A total of 20 cars were in the pit area on what was a beautiful night for the majority of the time, other than a shower 15 minutes after the feature. Tim Iulg ended his night shortly after it started when he made hard contact with the backstretch wall on the opening lap of his heat, breaking the frame and ending his night.

For more information, visit

Lucas Oil ASCS Patriots Results: 8/29/09, Stateline Speedway, Busti, NY.

PJ Motorsports A-Main (25 Laps)- 1. Bryan Howland (51), 2. Jared Zimbardi (35), 3. Chuck Hebing (45), 4. Bobby Breen (9), 5. Don Adamczyk (21), 6. Brad Knab (38), 7. Bubba Broderick (5), 8. Kyle Drum (3T), 9. Blake Breen (8), 10. Gary Kriess (55), 11. Tim Kelly (12), 12. Kyle Moffit (7), 13. Dave Wickham (80), 14. Brandan Warner (10B), 15. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 16. Derek Jonathan (81), 17. Scott Kreutter (52), 18. Devin Caron (24k), 19. Bruce DeWick (22d), 20. Tim Iulg (1k).

Lap Leaders- Zimbardi 1, Howland 2-25.

Four Laps of Fame Dash (4 Laps)- 1. Brad Knab (38), 2. Kyle Drum (3T), 3. Kyle Moffit (7), 4. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 5. Blake Breen (8), 6. Dave Wickham (80).

National Parts Peddler Heats (8 Laps Each)-
Race 1: 1. Scott Kreutter (52), 2. Kyle Drum (3T), 3. Bobby Breen (9), 4. Don Adamczyk (21), 5. Chris Muhleisen (10M), 6. Tim Kelly (12), 7. Brandan Warner (10B).

Race 2: 1. Chuck Hebing (45), 2. Bubba Broderick (5), 3. Blake Breen (8), 4. Bryan Howland (51), 5. Dave Wickham (80), 6. Devin Caron (24k), 7. Bruce DeWick (22d).

Race 3: 1. Gary Kriess (55), 2. Brad Knab (38), 3. Jared Zimbardi (35), 4. Kyle Moffit (7), 5. Derek Jonathan (81), 6. Tim Iulg (1k).

Contingency Awards-
Ohsweken Speedway/Canadian Sprint Car Nationals Award- Howland
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Passing Points Award- Kreutter
M&W Aluminum Products Top-5 Award- Hebing
Ultra-Shield Race Products Top-10 Award- Knab
Rod End Supply 20th Anniversary Award- DeWick

Final PJ Motorsports King of the Southern Tier Standings (Top-10)- 1. Jared Zimbardi 574, 2. Bryan Howland 568, 3. Don Adamczyk 558, Tie-4. Bubba Broderick and Bobby Breen 548, 6. Blake Breen 520, 7. Chris Muhleisen 488, 8. Brad Knab 457, 9. Derek Jonathan 431, 10. Gary Troutman 382.

Gater Racing News Hard Charger of the Season Standings (Top-10)- 1. Trevor Lewis 52, 2. Jared Zimbardi 48, 3. Bryan Howland 47, 4. Bubba Broderick 36, 5. Tommy Wickham 33, Tie-6. Don Adamczyk and Blake Breen 30, 8. Michael Parent 28, 9. Jamie Collard 24, 10. Chuck Hebing 23.

Lucas Oil ASCS Patriot Points (Top Ten): 1. Bryan Howland 2,646, 2. Jared Zimbardi 2,612, 3. Don Adamczyk 2,478, 4. Bubba Broderick 2,396, 5. Bobby Breen 2,144, 6. Blake Breen 1,845, 7. Gordy Button 1,646, 8. Chris Muhleisen 1,562, 9. Scott Kreutter 1,550, 10. Derek Jonathan 1,452.