Close this search box.

Brown Bests Midwest foes in I-80 weekend finale!!

Cody Morris, GREENWOOD, NEBRASKA (4-7-2012) – One night removed from a first-time winner in ASCS victory lane, the finale of the season opening weekend of action for the Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest region saw a familiar sight.

Grain Valley, Missouri’s “Blackjack” Brian Brown out dueled South Dakota’s Clint Garner in the first half of the 25 lap ASCS Midwest main event, before fending off a relative(ly) minor late race challenge from Danny Lasoski to earn his series’ best 21st Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region victory.

The largest obstacle to Brown’s victory bid came in the form of a lapped Ryan Roberts, who spun immediately in front of the leader with two circuits remaining. Brown’s evasive maneuver paid off, as he sailed to victory lane in the Brian Brown Racing, FVP, and Casey’s General Store sponsored no. 21 Maxim.

Lasoski settled for runner up honors with Garner settling for the show position at the final stripe. Indianola, Iowa’s Dustin Selvage used the lap 23 caution to his advantage, battling by Minnesota’s Davey Heskin for fourth at the finish line, with the latter closing out the top 5 running order.

Waverly, Nebraska’s Stu Snyder easily earned Hard Charger honors, fighting into the final transfer spot in the evening’s 2nd B Feature event and rallying from 20th to 8th in the final rounds.

Opening night winner Robbie Wolfgang followed his first career ASCS triumph with a 6th place performance in Saturday’s weekend finale, giving the 19 year old Sioux Falls, South Dakota shoe the early nod in the 2012 Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region championship chase.

Andy Jones, Danny Lasoski, Jack Dover, Davey Heskin, and Robbie Wolfgang each earned heat race honors over the impressive 39 car field, with Fargo, Oklahoma’s Taylor Milton and South Dakota’s Ryan Roberts taking winning-style transfers in the twin 10 lap B Features.

RESULTS: April 7th, 2012
Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Round 2 of 18
I-80 Speedway – Greenwood, Nebraska

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown[3]; 2. 1m-Danny Lasoski[7]; 3. 40-Clint Garner[1]; 4. 7-Dustin Selvage[6]; 5. 56-Davey Heskin[4]; 6. 7k-Robby Wolfgang[8]; 7. 24a-Jack Dover[5]; 8. 23s-Stu Snyder[20]; 9. 73-Andy Jones[2]; 10. 18-Ryan Roberts[11]; 11. 4-Jordan Boston[12]; 12. 45c-Russ Hall[19]; 13. 4a-Jon Agan[16]; 14. 4j-Lee Grosz[13]; 15. 2-Don Droud Jr[14]; 16. 97-Carson McCarl[15]; 17. 21k-Ryan Kitchen[10]; 18. 17b-Ryan Bickett[18]; 19. 0-Jeff Osborne[9]; 20. 91-Taylor Milton[17]
Lap Leaders: Garner 1-2; Brown 3; Garner 4-11; Brown 12-25

B Feature 1 (10 Laps): 1. 91-Taylor Milton; 2. 45c-Russ Hall; 3. 35-Trevor Grossenbacher; 4. 14-Jody Rosenboom; 5. 48-Jake Martens; 6. X-Chuck Swenson; 7. 44-Doug Lovegrove; 8. 32-Adam Guillion; 9. 75-Tommy Barber; 10. 6x-Nick Bryan; 11. 81-Jared Jansen; 12. 12L-John Lambertz
Top 2 advance to A Feature

B Feature 2 (10 Laps): 1. 17b-Ryan Bickett; 2. 23s-Stu Snyder; 3. 17-Gage Dorr; 4. 82-Jason Danley; 5. 31-Mark Pace; 6. 20-Casey Friedrichson; 7. 6-Haley Arnold; 8. 2d-Dusty Ballenger; 9. 6g-Bryan Gossel; 10. 5M-Miranda Arnold; 11. 13v-Seth Brahmer
Top 2 advance to A Feature

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 73-Andy Jones; 2. 21k-Ryan Kitchen; 3. 40-Clint Garner; 4. 0-Jeff Osborne; 5. 82-Jason Danley; 6. 2d-Dusty Ballenger; 7. X-Chuck Swenson; 8. 5M-Miranda Arnold

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 1m-Danny Lasoski; 2. 7-Dustin Selvage; 3. 4j-Lee Grosz; 4. 45c-Russ Hall; 5. 32-Adam Guillion; 6. 14-Jody Rosenboom; 7. 48-Jake Martens; 8. 6g-Bryan Gossel

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 24a-Jack Dover; 2. 21-Brian Brown; 3. 35-Trevor Grossenbacher; 4. 2-Don Droud Jr; 5. 97-Carson McCarl; 6. 23s-Stu Snyder; 7. 44-Doug Lovegrove; 8. 81-Jared Jansen

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 56-Davey Heskin; 2. 18-Ryan Roberts; 3. 4a-Jon Agan; 4. 17-Gage Dorr; 5. 6x-Nick Bryan; 6. 75-Tommy Barber; 7. 13v-Seth Brahmer; 8. 31-Mark Pace

Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 7k-Robby Wolfgang; 2. 4-Jordan Boston; 3. 91-Taylor Milton; 4. 17b-Ryan Bickett; 5. 20-Casey Friedrichson; 6. 6-Haley Arnold; 7. 12L-John Lambertz

Featured Phot Credit: Rob Kocak