Close this search box.

Brian McClelland Best of ASCS Lone Stars at Boyd!

Lonnie Wheatley, BOYD, Texas (July 22, 2011) – Brian McClelland snared his second ASCS Regional win of the year with a late move to take the checkered flag in Friday night’s 25-lap The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star main event at Boyd Raceway.

Piloting the Ronnie Davis No. 25 entry, McClelland made a white-flag pass of Kolt Walker to take his second career feature win at Boyd Raceway after recording a Sooner score atop the ¼-mile clay oval in 2008.

The Tulsa, OK, racer crossed the stripe just ahead of Walker, who took the lead away from John Ricketts on the third circuit only to surrender the point to McClelland on the 24th lap.

Current ASCS Lone Star points leader Matt Covington claimed the show position behind McClelland and Walker with defending series champion Eric Baldaccini and Justin Melton rounding out the top five.

Claud Estes was sixth, with Gary Floyd, Michael Lang, Chad Wilson and Larry Howery completing the top ten.

Walker and Baldaccini topped heat race action.

The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region Results from Boyd Raceway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 45k-Kolt Walker, 2. 25-Brian McClelland, 3. 58-Gary Floyd, 4. 76-John Ricketts, 5. 20x-Mike George, 6. 20-Chad Wilson, 7. 14b-Robert Byrom, 8. 45-Martin Edwards.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 11c-Matt Covington, 3. 14-Michael Lang, 4. 79-Ryan Hall, 5. 74e-Claud Estes, 6. 11-Justin Melton, 7. 69-Larry Howery.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 25-Brian McClelland, 2. 45k-Kolt Walker, 3. 11c-Matt Covington, 4. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 5. 11-Justin Melton, 6. 74e-Claud Estes, 7. 58-Gary Floyd, 8. 14-Michael Lang, 9. 20-Chad Wilson, 10. 69-Larry Howery, 11. 14b-Robert Byrom, 12. 76-John Ricketts, 13. 79-Ryan Hall, 14. 20x-Mike George. DNS: 45-Martin Edwards.

The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Matt Covington 1,407, 2. Eric Baldaccini 1,330, 3. Claud Estes 1,313, 4. Michael Lang 1,285, 5. Justin Melton 1,265, 6. Martin Edwards 1,225, 7. John Ricketts 1,134, 8. Robert Byrom 1,122, 9. Evan Pardo 969, 10. Dale Wester 857.