Close this search box.

Brian Brown Best of ASCS Midwest Again at I-80 Speedway!

Lonnie Wheatley, GREENWOOD, Neb. (September 3, 2010) – Missouri’s Brian Brown bagged his fifth American Sprint Car Series Midwest Regional win of the year by racing to victory lane in Friday night’s 25-lap main event at I-80 Speedway.

After starting fourth, Brown battled past Chad Humston on the third round and then survived a mid-race exchange of sliders with Humston to post his second series win of the year at the Nebraska Raceway Park oval aboard the FVP No. 21 Maxim.

Brown ultimately broke away from Humston and company to take his seventh I-80 checkered flag in ASCS Midwest action with a straightaway advantage. Humston took runner-up honors, with two-time Northern Plains champ Lee Grosz taking the show position.

After missing his heat race call to put an engine in a car that arrived separately, Don Droud, Jr., rallied from 18th to claim fourth, with Billy Alley rounding out the top five.

After battling amongst the lead pack in the early stages of the race, Gregg Bakker was sixth with Jordan Boston, 17th-starter Kyle Hirst, Doug Lovegrove and Ryan Roberts completing the top ten.

Grosz, current series points leader Eric Lutz and Humston topped heat race action, with Hirst winning the “B” Main.

ASCS Midwest Region Results from I-80 Speedway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 4j-Lee Grosz, 2. 21-Brian Brown, 3. 24a-Billy Alley, 4. 18-Ryan Roberts, 5. 17-Gage Dorr, 6. 5h-Kyle Hirst, 7. 35-Trevor Grossenbacher, 8. 0-Jeff Osborne.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 5-Eric Lutz, 2. 11x-Gregg Bakker, 3. 53-Joe Beaver, 4. 44-Doug Lovegrove, 5. 6g-Bryan Gossel, 6. 82-Jason Danley, 7. 25-Dylan Peterson. DNS: 2-Don Droud, Jr.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 1m-Chad Humston, 2. 4-Jordan Boston, 3. 5x-Dave Glennon, 4. 47-Brandt Obanion, 5. 44k-David Kubart, 6. 36-Rick Hansen, 7. 57-Don Stoutner.

B Feature (6 Laps): 1. 5h-Kyle Hirst, 2. 2-Don Droud, Jr., 3. 25-Dylan Peterson, 4. 0-Jeff Osborne, 5. 35-Trevor Grossenbacher. DNS: 82-Jason Danley; 57-Don Stoutner.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown, 2. 1m-Chad Humston, 3. 4j-Lee Grosz, 4. 2-Don Droud, Jr., 5. 24a-Billy Alley, 6. 11x-Gregg Bakker, 7. 4-Jordan Boston, 8. 5h-Kyle Hirst, 9. 44-Doug Lovegrove, 10. 18-Ryan Roberts, 11. 5x-Dave Glennon, 12. 5-Eric Lutz, 13. 53-Joe Beaver, 14. 17-Gage Dorr, 15. 47-Brandt Obanion, 16. 36-Rick Hansen, 17. 44k-David Kubart, 18. 25-Dylan Peterson, 19. 0-Jeff Osborne, 20. 6g-Bryan Gossel (DNS).

ASCS Midwest Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Eric Lutz 1,886, 2. Doug Lovegrove 1,672, 3. Jack Dover 1,517, 4. Lee Grosz 1,220, 5. Brian Brown 1,214, 6. (tie) Jason Danley and Tyler Drueke 1,157, 8. Gage Dorr 1,095, 9. Chad Humston 1,041, 10. Ryan Roberts 922.