Close this search box.

Bacon Dominates with Eagle Nationals Sweep

Eagle, Nebraska (June 9, 2012) After making it back to back wins with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV on night one of the Eagle Nationals, Brady Bacon took his streak to three in a row with the weekend sweep of the Hinchman Racewear Eagle Nationals; putting the No. 99 within five markers of the series points lead.

“I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect race track” commented Bacon in victory lane. “The bottom was really good but it was also really hard to run but if you could hit it just right you could get all kinds of drive.”

Drawing the outside of the front row, Bacon would battle wheel to wheel with Jack Dover before the red for the No. 6 of Ricky Stenhouse Jr. brought the field to a stop with one lap in the books. Getting the jump on the restart, the Certified Transmission No. 53 of Jack Dover pulled to a sizable lead as the race approached slower traffic.

Pulling to back bumper of Dover, the Fatheadz Eyewear No. 99 of Brady Bacon used slower traffic to his advantage; taking the race lead on the twelfth circuit only to see the caution fly for the spun No. 18r of Ryan Roberts.

Reverting to the last fully completed lap, Bacon kept pace with Dover on the restart with Wayne Johnson in tow. Building momentum with a combination of lines, Bacon would bolt back into the top spot on lap sixteen.

Pulling to a sizable advantage, Bacon would leave the battle for second to five drivers as Jack Dover worked to keep ahead of Wayne Johnson as the MVT No. 41 of Jason Johnson, who started eleventh, working into fourth ahead of Seth Bergman and Johnny Herrera before the caution waved for the spun No. 31 of Mark Pace; leaving only twelve laps remaining.

Back to green for the final dash to the finish, Bacon would use several slower cars in the line-up to pull to a half-track advantage with second up for grabs. Making the late race charge, the Lincoln Auto Auction No. 41 of Jason Johnson and MVT No. 45x of Johnny Herrera worked past Jack Dover and Wayne Johnson going side by side for the final two laps as Brady Bacon cruised to the win.

Johnny Herrera was able to steal away the runner up spot on the white flag lap, leaving Jason Johnson to settle for third. Wayne Johnson battled to fourth at the checkered flag with Brady Loyet bouncing back from as far back as ninth to round out the top five.

Seth Bergman finished sixth with Jack Dover fading to seventh in the closing laps. Danny Wood held on to eighth with Trevor Grossenbacher taking ninth while Logan Forler posted his second straight top ten of the season by rounding out the top ten.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV

Eagle Raceway – Eagle, Nebraska

Eagle Nationals Night #2

June 9, 2012

Car Count: 30

(Event Car Count: 33)

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 6-Ricky Stenhouse Jr[4]; 2. 12-Tyler Drueke[2]; 3. 41-Jason Johnson[5]; 4. 31-Mark Pace[1]; 5. 18r-Ryan Roberts[6]; 6. 24bh-Eric Lutz[8]; 7. 2-Dustin Morgan[7]; DNF 21v-Taylor Velasquez[3]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 81-Danny Wood[1]; 2. 48-Jake Martens[4]; 3. 5h-Logan Forler[3]; 4. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[6]; 5. 6g-Bryan Gossel[2]; 6. 4-Jordan Boston[5]; 7. 28-Ken Klabunde[7]; 8. 17-Gage Dorr[8]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman[2]; 2. 53-Jack Dover[6]; 3. 23s-Stu Snyder[8]; 4. 45x-Johnny Herrera[7]; DNF 77-John Klabunde[1]; DNF 2A-Randy Hibbs[4]; DNF 32-Adam Gullion[5]; DNS 14G-Gene Ackland

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 31-Mark Pace[2]; 2. 28-Ken Klabunde[9]; 3. 4-Jordan Boston[5]; 4. 77-John Klabunde[4]; 5. 24bh-Eric Lutz[1]; 6. 2-Dustin Morgan[7]; 7. 21v-Taylor Velasquez[10]; 8. 32-Adam Gullion[8]; DNF 17-Gage Dorr; DNF 6g-Bryan Gossel[3]; DNS 2A-Randy Hibbs; DNS 14G-Gene Ackland

A Feature (40 Laps): 1. 99-Brady Bacon[2]; 2. 45x-Johnny Herrera[15]; 3. 41-Jason Johnson[11]; 4. 77x-Wayne Johnson[4]; 5. 05-Brad Loyet[5]; 6. 23-Seth Bergman[8]; 7. 53-Jack Dover[1]; 8. 81-Danny Wood[10]; 9. 35-Trevor Grossenbacher[6]; 10. 5h-Logan Forler[14]; 11. 12-Tyler Drueke[12]; 12. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[13]; 13. 2-Dustin Morgan[22]; 14. 4-Jordan Boston[19]; 15. 23s-Stu Snyder[7]; 16. 18r-Ryan Roberts[16]; 17. 31-Mark Pace[17]; 18. 48-Jake Martens[9]; DNF 28-Ken Klabunde[18]; DNF 77-John Klabunde[20]; DNF 21v-Taylor Velasquez; DNF 6-Ricky Stenhouse Jr[3]; DNF 24bh-Eric Lutz[21]

Lap Leaders: Jack Dover (1-16), Brady Bacon (17-40) Hard Charger: Johnny Herrera+13

FSR Radiator High Point Driver of the night: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Provisional(s): Taylor Velasquez (promoter’s choice)

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-3, Brady Bacon-3, Tony Bruce Jr.-2, Wayne Johnson-2, Seth Bergman-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 1,956; 2. Wayne Johnson 1,952; 3. Brady Bacon 1,951; 4. Johnny Herrera 1,810; 5. Brad Loyet 1,783; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 1,682; 7. Danny Wood 1,643; 8. Seth Bergman 1,586; 9. Dustin Morgan 1,494; 10. Gary Wright 1,410

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is scheduled to compete 68 times in 15 states throughout the United States with divers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s fund.

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Joe Orth