Close this search box.

Bacon Dominates Hockett/McMillin Memorial Opener

Bryan Hulbert – Wheatland, Missouri (September 28, 2012) On a track made rough by copious amounts of rain leading up the Jesse Hockett / Daniel McMillin Memorial, Brady Bacon was unstoppable as the Broken Arrow native swept both the W.A.R Sprints and Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV A-Feature events this past Friday night.

“We’ll see what happens tomorrow. That’s the big night and it’s the most important” commented Brady in Victory Lane. “I got that Jesse Hockett Helmet painted so maybe that has something to do with it. I’m glad to win in Jack’s car and I’m glad to win in my car so hopefully we can do this again tomorrow.”

Rolling off from the outside of the front row, the Fatheadz Eyewear No. 99 would ride second as Brian Brown assumed the point in the Casey’s General Store / FVP / Searsboro No. 21. Riding the top shelf of the rough Lucas Oil Speedway, Bacon would see his opportunity on lap four as Brown slipped exiting turn four, allowing Bacon to diamond the corner for a bottom side pass entering turn one.

The races lone stop came on lap five for an incident that saw Marion, Arkansas’s Derek Hagar flipping nearly half the length of the back straight-a-away after Justin Henderson was left with nowhere to go as Brad Loyet got crossed up exiting turn two. Loyet and Henderson would return with Hagar out with a 22nd place finish.

Underway with fifteen laps remaining, Bacon would quickly extend his lead as Brown worked to hold off the hard charging Tony Bruce Jr. Rollin the high side of the “Diamond of Dirt Tracks”, the Oil Medics No. 18 would keep pace with Brown’s Casey’s General Store No. 21 who worked the middle to bottom of the racing surface.

Working through slower traffic, the battle for second would go from two to four as Wayne Johnson and eleventh starting Shane Stewart joined in the mix near the midpoint of the night’s 25 lap feature event.

Finally clearing Brian Brown on lap sixteen, Bruce would run out of time to get a run for the lead as Brady Bacon stormed to his seventh A-Main win of the year. Tony Bruce Jr. crossed the line second with Brian Brown holding on to claim the final step on the podium. Using slower traffic, Shane Stewart grabbed fourth on lap twenty-two with Wayne Johnson landing just outside the lock-ins for Saturday’s A-Feature in fifth.

Jonathan Cornell was sixth with Jason Johnson coming from fifteenth to seventh. Brandon Hanks also charged forward from eighteenth to eighth with Johnny Herrera and Jack Dover making up the top ten.

The 2nd annual Hockett/McMillin Memorial concludes Saturday September 29, 2012 with race time set for 6:30pm CDT.

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV
Lucas Oil Speedway – Wheatland, Missouri
September 28, 2012

Car Count: 51

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 3G-Shane Stewart[1]; 2. 41-Jason Johnson[5]; 3. 5H-Logan Forler[2]; 4. 76-Jay Russell[6]; 5. 94-Jeff Swindell[8]; 6. 14-Andrew Turley[7]; DNF 21TX-Brandon Schure[3]; DNS 11C-Matt Covington

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 45X-Johnny Herrera[1]; 2. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[4]; 3. 4-Jordan Boston[2]; 4. 38-Cody Baker[5]; 5. 04-Brad Graham[6]; 6. 9M-Mitchell Moore[3]; DNF 48X-Jon Corbin[8]; DNF 53-Jack Dover[7]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 86-Kyle Bellm[2]; 2. 28-Jonathan Cornell[5]; 3. 2-Dustin Morgan[7]; 4. 33-Austin Alumbaugh[6]; 5. 3Z-Zach Davis[8]; DNF 86X-Josh Fisher[1]; DNF 9MX-Bryan Grimes[3]; DNF 0M-Steven Richardson[4]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 9-Gary Wright[1]; 2. 5M-Miranda Arnold[4]; 3. 82-Justin Henderson[6]; 4. 01-Terry McCarl[2]; 5. 24-Lanny Carpenter[5]; 6. 2A-Randy Hibbs[7]; 7. 27-Mark Finnell[3]

Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 77X-Wayne Johnson[4]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[3]; 3. 3H-Brandon Hanks[6]; 4. 75-Tyler Blank[5]; 5. 55-Taylor Weld[2]; DNF 1X-Brad Ryun[1]; DNF 47-J Kinder[7]

Heat 6 (8 Laps): 1. 9JR-Derek Hagar[1]; 2. 99-Brady Bacon[5]; 3. 1A-Adam Jones[2]; 4. 52-Blake Hahn[3]; 5. 71-R.J. Johnson[6]; 6. 72-Curtis Boyer[4]

Heat 7 (8 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown[2]; 2. 23B-Brian Bell[1]; 3. 05-Brad Loyet[6]; 4. 48-Jake Martens[3]; 5. 94L-Layne Himebaugh[4]; 6. 17B-Ryan Bickett[5]; DNF 29-Brandon Hahn[7]

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 71-R.J. Johnson[6]; 2. 94L-Layne Himebaugh[7]; 3. 1A-Adam Jones[3]; 4. 48-Jake Martens[5]; 5. 9M-Mitchell Moore[9]; 6. 17B-Ryan Bickett[8]; DNF 23B-Brian Bell[1]; DNF 9MX-Bryan Grimes[11]; DNF 55-Taylor Weld[4]; DNF 3Z-Zach Davis[2]; DNS 86-Kyle Bellm; DNS 0M-Steven Richardson

B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 3H-Brandon Hanks[1]; 2. 5H-Logan Forler[2]; 3. 76-Jay Russell[4]; 4. 94-Jeff Swindell[5]; 5. 01-Terry McCarl[6]; 6. 38-Cody Baker[3]; DNF 27-Mark Finnell[11]; DNF 1X-Brad Ryun[10]; DNF 11C-Matt Covington[12]; DNF 2A-Randy Hibbs[7]; DNF 21TX-Brandon Schure[9]; DNS 48X-Jon Corbin

B Feature 3 (12 Laps): 1. 53-Jack Dover[11]; 2. 75-Tyler Blank[3]; 3. 04-Brad Graham[5]; 4. 47-J Kinder[10]; 5. 29-Brandon Hahn[9]; 6. 14-Andrew Turley[7]; 7. 52-Blake Hahn[4]; DNF 33-Austin Alumbaugh[1]; DNF 72-Curtis Boyer[8]; DNF 24-Lanny Carpenter[6]; 11. 4-Jordan Boston[2]

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 99-Brady Bacon[2]; 2. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[3]; 3. 21-Brian Brown[1]; 4. 3G-Shane Stewart[11]; 5. 77X-Wayne Johnson[5]; 6. 28-Jonathan Cornell[6]; 7. 41-Jason Johnson[15]; 8. 3H-Brandon Hanks[18]; 9. 45X-Johnny Herrera[12]; 10. 53-Jack Dover[19]; 11. 2-Dustin Morgan[7]; 12. 82-Justin Henderson[9]; 13. 5M-Miranda Arnold[4]; 14. 5H-Logan Forler[21]; 15. 94L-Layne Himebaugh[20]; 16. 75-Tyler Blank[22]; 17. 05-Brad Loyet[10]; DNF 86-Kyle Bellm[8]; DNF 71-R.J. Johnson[17]; DNF 9-Gary Wright[13]; DNF 23-Seth Bergman[16]; DNF 9JR-Derek Hagar[14]

Lap Leader(s): Brian Brown (1-4), Brady Bacon (5-25) Hard Charger of the Night: Brandon Hanks+10
FSR Radiator High Point Driver of the Night: Jonathan Cornell
Provisional(s): N/A

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-11, Wayne Johnson-8, Brady Bacon-7, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Danny Lasoski-2, Shane Stewart-2, Jeff Swindell-2, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1, Jordan Boston-1, Brock Lemley-1, Mason Moore-1, Brad Loyet-1, Brooke Tatnell-1, Kevin Swindell-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 5,885; 2. Wayne Johnson 5,866; 3. Brady Bacon 5,715; 4. Johnny Herrera 5,385; 5. Brad Loyet 5,321; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 5,307; 7. Seth Bergman 4,914; 8. Logan Forler 4,847; 9. Dustin Morgan 4,760; 10. Gary Wright 4,699

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News Letter. Sign up with your Cell Phone by texting ASCS to 22828.

Photo Credit: Joe Orth