Close this search box.

ASCS Sprints on Dirt Start 2010 Season Saturday at Crystal

T.J. Buffenbarger, TULSA, Okla. (April 26, 2010) – The Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP series kicks off the 2010 season Saturday night at Crystal Motor Speedway. Home of the first ever Sprints on Dirt event in 1980, Saturday will be the first of three appearances during the 2010 season and the 106th all time at the 1/3-mile oval in Crystal, Michigan.

During the season opener, Dustin Daggett will attempt to collect his sixth straight feature victory at Crystal. Since September of 2006 Daggett has won an astounding nine of his last 10 starts at Crystal. In addition, Daggett is chasing the record for feature wins all time in the ASCS SOD series needing only six more feature wins to tie the record.

One of the drivers looking to an end to Daggett’s win streak is defending ASCS SOD champion Brett Mann. Mann will defend his title aboard his family owned car for the first time in three and a half seasons. Mann has four feature wins at Crystal, the last of which came in 2004.

Gregg Dalman is another feature winner from last season scheduled to appear at Crystal on Saturday. Dalman scored one feature victory in 2009 at Winston Speedway, passing Daggett in the closing laps to secure the victory. Dalman has been close to the ASCS SOD point title on several occasions, and is looking to finally get over the hump in 2010 with a good start at the opening event at Crystal.

As an added bonus Lucas Oil ASCS National Sprint Car Series regular Darren Long, driving for veteran sprint car driver Joe Gaerte and former champion Tim Norman, is scheduled to make his first ASCS regional appearance of the 2010 season Saturday at Crystal. Long has eight career ASCS SOD feature wins with one coming at Crystal in 2003.

Hot Laps are scheduled for 6:00 p.m. with racing at 7:30. Fans that cannot make Crystal Motor Speedway can listen and/or watch the action online at

The Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP is in its 31st season of competition. Twenty-seven races are on the calendar scheduled throughout Michigan, Indiana, Ohio, and Ontario.

The American Sprint Car Series, in its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing events, brings the best of Sprint Car racing to nearly 100 different tracks throughout 25 states and Canada in 2009. Anchored by the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series, ASCS also consists of several different regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at