Close this search box.

ASCS Southwest Strolls into CSP!!!

Cody Morris, TULSA, OKLAHOMA (4-2-2012) – The ASCS Southwest Region 2012 campaign resumes this Saturday night for an early Easter celebration at Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, Arizona.

With four events of a 15 show slate in the books, courtesy of co-sanctioned events with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour, Saturday night’s CSP affair will showcase the first stand alone ASCS Southwest Region event of the young season.

Canyon Speedway Park’s 2nd Annual Easter Eggstravanganza will mark the third of 8 scheduled ASCS events at CSP’s semi banked 3/8 mile oval, while also delivering the first of three stand alone Southwest Region events at CSP confines.

With four National Tour drivers stealing the loot in each of the co-sanctioned contests, scoring one for the Grand Canyon State will remain a tough task. Although conceived in 2008, the ASCS Southwest Region has known only one champion – Las Cruces, New Mexico’s reigning four-time ASCS Southwest champ Rick Ziehl.

However, Ziehl finds himself in unusual territory, entering the weekend trailing a duo of young talents in Albuquerque, New Mexico’s Josh Hodges and Peoria’s hometown favorite Dalten Gabbard. Ziehl trails the leading duo by 20 points entering Saturday night’s contest at CSP.

To add to the mix of Easter kicks, a winner in most recent non winged ASCS Canyon action at Canyon Speedway Park; Buckeye, Arizona’s Charles Davis Jr. has accepted the challenge to throw a hat on his mount for this weekend’s 2nd Annual Easter Eggstravaganza.

Canyon Speedway Park is located in North Peoria off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles West on Carefree Highway. For more information, please contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or visit

Past ASCS Southwest Winners at Canyon Speedway Park:
3/3/2012 – Jason Johnson (*with National Tour)
3/2/2012 – Tony Bruce Jr. (*with National Tour)
10/21/11 – Rick Ziehl
9/10/11 – Johnny Herrera
7/23/11 – R.J. Johnson
5/21/11 – Rick Ziehl
10/22/10 – Dereck Ortega
5/22/10 – Johnny Herrera

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV, ASCS also showcases eleven regions across the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Terry Shaw