Close this search box.

ASCS Southwest Round Three Saturday at USA Raceway

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (April 19, 2010) – The winged Sprint Cars of the American Sprint Car Series Southwest Region fire back to life this Saturday night with the third round of championship competition atop Tucson’s 3/8-mile USA Raceway.

The ASCS Southwest Region kicked off the 2010 season with two-time and defending series champion Rick Ziehl reaching victory lane on March 20 and then Albuquerque’s Johnny Herrera victorious on April 3.

With the opening two nights of competition in the books, Ziehl of Las Cruces holds a 25-point lead over Arizona native and current Knoxville, IA, denizen Calvin Landis in the championship points race.

Noted wingless shoe R.J. Johnson has adjusted to the winged ranks quite nicely, ranking third in ASCS Southwest points after the initial pair of events, with John Gaston and Cole Boyd rounding out the current top five.

The rest of the current top ten in ASCS Southwest points includes Steve Stone, Kaylene Verville, Mike Martin, Koty McGullam and J.T. Imperial.

Saturday’s ASCS Southwest Region action at USA Raceway is slated to go green at 6:45 p.m.

The 3/8-mile USA Raceway clay oval is located east of Tucson off I-10 Exit 268, then 1.6 mile south on Craycroft Road, which turns into Los Reales. For more information, contact the track at 520-574-8515.

The ASCS Southwest Region is currently slated for 19 overall nights of competition in 2010, including 13 nights in Arizona and three New Mexico weekend doubles.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of eleven different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at