Close this search box.

ASCS Southwest Ready for Thunder Raceway!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (September 20, 2010) – The winged forces of the American Sprint Car Series Southwest Region invade Show Low, Arizona’s Thunder Raceway for the only time in 2010 this Saturday night.

Leading the way into Saturday night’s tilt atop the high-banked, ¼-mile clay oval is two-time and defending series champion Rick Ziehl, who comes off an ASCS Southwest win this past Saturday night at Tucson’s USA Raceway.

Saturday’s USA triumph marked Ziehl’s third series score of the year, allowing the Las Cruces, NM, shoe to extend his series lead to 104 markers over Knoxville, IA, resident Calvin Landis.

Landis is just 16 points ahead of Peoria’s John Gaston in the battle for second, with Tijeras, NM, teen Joshua Hodges and Mesa’s Steve Stone rounding out the current top five in points. The balance of the current top ten includes Joshua Williams (Glendale), J.T. Imperial (Mesa), Koty McGullam (Marana), Mike Rux, Jr. (Mesa) and Kaylene Verville (Avondale).

Saturday’s card at Thunder Raceway marks the first ASCS Southwest event atop the Show Low clay oval since a Ben Gregg victory in May of 2008.

Thunder Raceway is located in Show Low, AZ, 1.5 miles east of SR 77 on US 60. For more information, contact the track at 928-537-1111.

The ASCS Southwest Region is currently slated for 17 overall nights of competition in 2010, including 13 nights in Arizona and a pair of New Mexico weekend doubles.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at