Close this search box.

ASCS Sooners Make One Last 2010 Stand at Lawton!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (August 18, 2010) – Race fans in the Sooner State will have a rare opportunity to take in some high-powered, fuel-injected Sprint Car action as Lawton Speedway hosts the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region for the final time of 2010 this Saturday night.

And, leading the way into Saturday’s action is current points leader Sean McClelland, who bested a Sooner vs. Lone Star Regional showdown atop Lawton’s noted red clay, ¼-mile oval on July 17.

Tulsa’s McClelland, vying for a second Sooner crown after capturing his first title in 2005, enters Saturday’s fray with a 65-point edge over defending series champion Joe Wood, Jr., of Oklahoma City. Only two point races remain after Saturday’s Lawton stop, including a showdown with the Lone Star forces at Cowtown Speedway on August 28 and then the season finale at South Coffeyville’s Mid-America Speedway on September 11.

While McClelland and Wood lead the way, Sapulpa’s Kenneth Walker currently sits third in points, a mere eight markers ahead of Oklahoma City’s Andy Shouse with Broken Arrow’s Donnie Ray Crawford rounding out the current top five.

Among others expected are two-time ASCS Sooner Region champion Brian McClelland, Guthrie’s Michelle Decker, home-town Lawton shoe Michael Brown and Robert Sellers, who posted a Sooner win at Lawton in June.

Saturday’s action at Lawton Speedway fires off at 8:00 p.m.

Lawton Speedway is located in Lawton, OK, off I-44 Exit 36, then 2.5 miles west on Lee Boulevard, then 1.4 miles south on Sheridan Road. For more information, contact the track at 580-355-6417.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region is slated for 13 nights of racing action at eight different tracks throughout Oklahoma, Texas and Missouri in 2010.

Past ASCS Sooner Region Feature Winners at Lawton Speedway:
7/10/10 – Sean McClelland (vs. Lone Star Region)
6/5/10 – Robert Sellers
8/22/09 – Jason Johnson
7/18/09 – Brady Bacon
8/16/08 – Robert Sellers
6/14/08 – Joe Wood, Jr.
4/12/08 – Gary Taylor
9/8/07 – Kevin Ramey
8/19/06 – Kevin Ramey
4/22/06 – Sean McClelland
9/17/05 – Kevin Ramey
7/2/05 – Sean McClelland
4/30/05 – Sean McClelland
9/11/04 – Danny Wood
7/3/04 – Danny Wood
5/1/04 – Travis Rilat
9/20/03 – Kevin Ramey
7/5/03 – Nick Smith
5/3/03 – Kevin Ramey
9/14/02 – Danny Jennings
8/3/02 – Zach Chappell
7/6/02 – Foster Landon
8/18/01 – Danny Jennings
8/4/01 – Danny Jennings
7/7/01 – Robert Sellers
6/2/01 – Travis Scott

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at