Close this search box.

ASCS Sooner Schedule Released

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (January 26, 2012) – The 2012 schedule for the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region has been released as the series gears up for its twelfth year of intense competition throughout Oklahoma and neighboring territories.

Currently, the 2012 slate of ASCS Sooner events consists of 17 nights of competition at nine different tracks throughout the Sooner State and neighboring portions of Texas, Kansas and Missouri.

The 2012 ASCS Sooner season will kick off Saturday night, April 28, at Lawton Speedway. It will mark the first of four Sooner stops at Lawton, including a Red River Shootout tilt versus the Oil Medics Lone Star Region in July.

The Sooner forces will square off with the Lone Star shoes on three other occasions including twice at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway near Dallas and once at Cowtown Speedway near Fort Worth.

Creek County Speedway will host the series four times as well, with a May 4 card followed up by events on June 29, July 27 and August 17.

The June 29 stop at Creek County will precede a return to Caney Valley Speedway in Caney, KS, the first Caney stop for the Sooner Region since 2003.

Mid-America Speedway in South Coffeyville, OK, will also host the ASCS Sooner Region on September 22, with Muskogee’s Thunderbird Speedway on tap for October 5. The following night, October 6, the ASCS Sooner Region will put the wraps on the 2012 season by taking on the Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region at Missouri’s Springfield Raceway.

Joe Wood, Jr., is the reigning American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region champion after earning his second series title in three years during the 2011 campaign.

2012 American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Schedule

April 28 – Lawton Speedway (Lawton, OK)
May 4 – Creek County Speedway (Sapulpa, OK)
May 19 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX) – vs. Lone Star Region
May 26 – Lawton Speedway (Lawton, OK)
June 2 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX) – vs. Lone Star Region
*June 22 – Salina Highbanks Speedway (Salina, OK)
June 29 – Creek County Speedway (Sapulpa, OK)
June 30 – Caney Valley Speedway (Caney, KS)
July 21 – Cowtown Speedway (Kennedale, TX) – vs. Lone Star Region
July 27 – Creek County Speedway (Sapulpa, OK)
July 28 – Lawton Speedway (Lawton, OK) – vs. Lone Star Region
*August 17 – Creek County Speedway (Sapulpa, OK)
*August 18 – Lawton Speedway (Lawton, OK)
*August 24 – Salina Highbanks Speedway (Salina, OK)
September 22 – Mid-America Speedway (S. Coffeyville, OK)
October 5 – Thunderbird Speedway (Muskogee, OK)
October 6 – Springfield Raceway (Springfield, MO) – vs. Warrior Region

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at