Close this search box.

ASCS Sooner returns for Holiday Solo at Lawton!

Cody Morris, Tulsa, Oklahoma (5-21-2012) – The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region returns to the historic Lawton Speedway for the second of four Sooner trips to the Lawton, Oklahoma red clay ¼ mile bullring this season (Thriller Photography/Michael Jackson photo).

Glenpool, Oklahoma’s Matt Covington leads the Sooner stars into Lawton on the strength of his impressive victory in Sooner vs. Lone Star action at Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas.

An emotional Sean McClelland took season opening Sooner honors at Lawton in April. Washington state native Seth Bergman earned a Sooner nod a week later at Sapulpa, Oklahoma’s Creek County Speedway with Covington joining the winning ranks in a big way this past weekend at Devil’s Bowl.

The reigning Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region champion currently commands the early lead in both the ASCS Sooner and Lone Star Regions and enters Lawton hungry for his second win at the historic southwest Oklahoma red clay oval following his first Lawton triumph in May of last season.

However, a trio of Sooner state talents are hot on Covington’s tail. By virtue of three consistent Sooner Region finishes, Mustang Oklahoma’s Andy Shouse trails Covington by only 8 points headed into the Memorial Day solo at Lawton.

Another Mustang, Oklahoma star and current Car & Fleet Rookie of the Year leader Shane Sellers sits just a further marker back with Oklahoma City’s two-time and defending American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region champion Joe Wood Jr. sitting fourth, just ten points behind Covington.

Guthrie, Oklahoma’s Michelle Decker turned in her first top five Sooner run at Devil’s Bowl and is fifth in the early point standings.

Saturday’s American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region stand at Lawton begins at 8pm. For further information regarding Lawton Speedway, please visit

Past American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Feature Winners at Lawton Speedway:
4/28/12 – Sean McClelland
8/20/11 – Brandon Corn
7/16/11 – Danny Wood
6/4/11 – Sean McClelland
5/14/11 – Matt Covington
10/2/10 – Andy Shouse
7/10/10 – Sean McClelland (vs. Lone Star Region)
6/5/10 – Robert Sellers
8/22/09 – Jason Johnson
7/18/09 – Brady Bacon
8/16/08 – Robert Sellers
6/14/08 – Joe Wood, Jr.
4/12/08 – Gary Taylor
9/8/07 – Kevin Ramey
8/19/06 – Kevin Ramey
4/22/06 – Sean McClelland
9/17/05 – Kevin Ramey
7/2/05 – Sean McClelland
4/30/05 – Sean McClelland
9/11/04 – Danny Wood
7/3/04 – Danny Wood
5/1/04 – Travis Rilat
9/20/03 – Kevin Ramey
7/5/03 – Nick Smith
5/3/03 – Kevin Ramey
9/14/02 – Danny Jennings
8/3/02 – Zach Chappell
7/6/02 – Foster Landon
8/18/01 – Danny Jennings
8/4/01 – Danny Jennings
7/7/01 – Robert Sellers
6/2/01 – Travis Scott

2012 American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region feature winners: Sean McClelland 1, Seth Bergman 1, Matt Covington 1

2012 American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Point Standings (top ten):

Car & Fleet ASCS Sooner Region Rookie of the Year point standings: 1. Shane Sellers 376; 2. Jesse Frazier 306; 3. Joe Bob Lee 286; 4. Brandon Hahn 282; 5. Kyle Chady 261; 6. Kacee Frazier 219

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV, ASCS also consists of eleven different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at