Close this search box.

ASCS Sooner Region Set for Weekend Double!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (May 3, 2010) – The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region fires back into action this weekend with a pair of events, including one new stop and one that’s still relatively new to the Sooner forces.

On Friday night, the ASCS Sooner Region makes its first-ever stop at the 3/8-mile Outlaw Motor Speedway just southwest of Muskogee in Wainwright, OK. Then, on Saturday night, it’s over the border to Missouri’s Springfield Raceway for just the second time in series history.

The ASCS Sooner Region kicked off the 2010 campaign recently with reigning series champion Joe Wood, Jr., of Oklahoma City, OK, racing to victory lane at Creek County Speedway for his first series triumph since July of 2008.

Out to the early lead in his title defense, Wood, Jr., is just ahead of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma’s Nick Smith, with Liberal, KS, shoe Tony Bruce, Jr., Sapulpa, Oklahoma’s Kenneth Walker and Oklahoma City’s Andy Shouse rounding out the current top five in points.

The balance of the current top ten in ASCS Sooner points includes Jonathan Beason (Broken Arrow, OK), Donnie Ray Crawford (Broken Arrow, OK), Sean McClelland (Tulsa, OK), J.P. Bailey (Fort Worth, TX) and Jesse Hockett (Warsaw, MO).

While Friday’s card marks the first ASCS Sooner event at Outlaw Motor Speedway, Shane Stewart did top an ASCS National event at the first-class facility in 2003. Friday’s card will serve as an advance look for the Sooner contenders, who will join forces with the Lucas Oil ASCS National series at Outlaw Motor Speedway on Friday night, June 4.

Two-time ASCS Sooner Region champion Brian McClelland held off Zach Chappell and Crawford to top last year’s Sooner debut at Springfield Raceway. The ASCS Sooner Region forces will take on the Missouri-based Winged Outlaw Warriors in Saturday’s Springfield outing.

Friday’s racing action at Outlaw Motor Speedway goes green at 7:30 p.m., with Saturday’s card at Springfield Raceway firing off at 7:00 p.m.

Outlaw Motor Speedway is located southwest of Muskogee on US 69 to the Wainwright exit, then 0.1 mile west. For more information, contact the track at 918-687-9200.

Missouri’s Springfield Raceway is located off I-44 Exit 75, then south to Kearney Hwy., then one mile west to Westgate, then 0.3 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 417-863-0097.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region is slated for 15 nights of racing action at nine different tracks throughout Oklahoma, Texas and Missouri in 2010.

Past ASCS Sooner Region Feature Winners at Outlaw Motor Speedway:
None – First ASCS Sooner event at Outlaw Motor Speedway

Past ASCS Sooner Region Feature Winners at Springfield Raceway:
6/20/09 – Brian McClelland

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at