Close this search box.

ASCS Sooner Region Ready for Mid-America on Saturday!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (September 7, 2010) – The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region makes a much-anticipated return to the 3/10-mile, semi-banked Mid-America Speedway dirt oval in South Coffeyville, OK, this Saturday night.

Saturday’s event just one mile south of the Oklahoma-Kansas state line marks the first time for the powerful, fuel-injected Sprint Cars of the ASCS Sooner Region to sling the Mid-America clay since Gary Taylor tasted Sooner glory in May of 2008.

Leading the way into Saturday’s action is Tulsa’s Sean McClelland, who is closing in on a second ASCS Sooner Region championship after taking his first series title in 2005. McClelland holds a 65-point advantage over turnpike rival Joe Wood, Jr., of Oklahoma City, who earned the Sooner crown in 2009.

Sapulpa’s Kenneth Walker is currently third in ASCS Sooner points, with Oklahoma City’s Andy Shouse (fresh off an ASCS Gulf South win Sunday night in Lufkin, TX) and Broken Arrow’s Donnie Ray Crawford rounding out the current top five in points.

Two-time series champion Brian McClelland of Tulsa, younger brother to Sean, is just outside the top five in points in sixth.

With ten American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region events in the books thus far in 2010, there have been nine different winners with Jason Johnson the only driver able to repeat with two wins.

Sean McClelland posted a July 10 win at Lawton, Joe Wood, Jr., topped the season opener in April and Kenneth Walker claimed a Sooner vs. Lone Star Red River Shootout win at Devil’s Bowl in June with other 2010 winners including Nick Smith, Robert Sellers, Justin Melton, Claud Estes and Dustin Barks.

In ten previous ASCS Sooner Region events at Mid-America Speedway, Nick Smith is one of two drivers along with Garry Lee Maier to post a pair of wins. Brian McClelland picked off a 2007 win en route to the series championship.

Saturday’s action at Mid-America Speedway fires off at 8:00 p.m.

Mid-America Speedway is located one mile south of the Oklahoma-Kansas state line on US 169, then 0.7 miles west. For more information, contact the track at 918-829-8490.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region is slated for 14 nights of racing action at eight different tracks throughout Oklahoma, Texas and Missouri in 2010.

Past ASCS Sooner Region Feature Winners at Lawton Speedway:
5/3/08 – Gary Taylor
10/6/07 – Brian Brown
10/5/07 – Brian McClelland
6/9/07 – Kevin Ramey
4/21/07 – Garry Lee Maier
4/20/07 – Garry Lee Maier
10/7/06 – Nick Smith
9/16/06 – Nick Smith
5/13/06 – Sam Hafertepe, Jr.
10/15/05 – Travis Rilat

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at