Close this search box.

ASCS Sooner Region at Springfield on Saturday

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (July 26, 2010) – Following a crowd-pleasing event at Missouri’s Springfield Raceway in May, the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region makes an encore appearance atop the high-banked, ¼-mile clay oval this Saturday night.

Saturday’s event, co-sanctioned with the Missouri-based Winged Outlaw Warriors, marks the Inaugural running of the track’s Ozark Empire Nationals.

Tulsa’s Sean McClelland currently holds the lead in the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner title chase as he vies for a second series championship after taking the top spot in 2005.

After a year in Lucas Oil ASCS National competition, McClelland has rejoined the Sooner ranks and holds a 60-point advantage over defending ASCS Sooner champion Joe Wood, Jr., of Oklahoma City, OK, with Sapulpa’s Kenneth Walker, Oklahoma City’s Andy Shouse and Tulsa’s Donnie Ray Crawford rounding out the current top five in points.

Broken Arrow, Oklahoma’s Nick Smith bested a field of 31 competitors when the ASCS Sooner Region took to the Springfield Raceway in May, with two-time series champion Brian McClelland tops in last year’s series debut at Springfield.

Saturday’s racing action at Springfield Raceway is slate to go green at 7:15 p.m.

Missouri’s Springfield Raceway is located off I-44 Exit 75, then south to Kearney Hwy., then one mile west to Westgate, then 0.3 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 417-863-0097.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region is slated for 13 nights of racing action at eight different tracks throughout Oklahoma, Texas and Missouri in 2010.

Past ASCS Sooner Region Feature Winners at Springfield Raceway:
5/8/10 – Nick Smith
6/20/09 – Brian McClelland

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at